Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Aer Lingus | AerClub
Reload this Page >

Will Aer Lingus move to T5 at Heathrow? Transfer

Will Aer Lingus move to T5 at Heathrow? Transfer

Old Dec 21, 16, 11:07 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dublin
Programs: Delta SKYMILES SM 1MM, BRITISH AIRWAYS GOLD, HHONOURS GOLD, PRIORITY PASS
Posts: 977
Will Aer Lingus move to T5 at Heathrow? Transfer

Also What is the Transfer like between Aer Lingus at T2 and T5?
IRISHFLYER1 is offline  
Old Dec 21, 16, 4:25 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EIDW
Programs: Aer Lingus Concierge, Radisson Rewards Platinum, BW Diamond, Hilton Silver
Posts: 815
Originally Posted by IRISHFLYER1 View Post
Also What is the Transfer like between Aer Lingus at T2 and T5?
Its easy, follow the purple signs, take bus, 10 minutes

To be honest, its not much more in time than having to arrive at T5C and get back to T5A having to endure the fight through the security

T5A (or T5B hidden bus stop) to T2 is pleasure, transfer security at T2 is separate from the main security so nice and efficient

Regardless of a move, if you come from a non UK airport you have to go through security

T5 only has two 'Irish' gates so no chance of EI moving
ROKNA is offline  
Old Dec 22, 16, 5:01 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dublin
Programs: Delta SKYMILES SM 1MM, BRITISH AIRWAYS GOLD, HHONOURS GOLD, PRIORITY PASS
Posts: 977
Originally Posted by ROKNA View Post
T5A (or T5B hidden bus stop) to T2 is pleasure, transfer security at T2 is separate from the main security so nice and efficient
Even with Fast track which I normally have, security at T5 is a bit of a nightmare.
IRISHFLYER1 is offline  
Old Dec 24, 16, 1:20 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,803
Originally Posted by ROKNA View Post
T5 only has two 'Irish' gates so no chance of EI moving
And it initially had no "Irish" gates. Besides, airport/gate configurations are not insurmountable challenges and such considerations would not be impediments.

Iberia and BA were partners for many years before IB moved over to T5. It may happen that EI moves at some point in the future - but I think it very unlikely in the short term.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 16, 12:09 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York
Programs: BA, LH, VS, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 3,813
Aside from there not being room at T5, it probably suits IAG to have EI in T2 as they can keep an eye on what rival airlines there are planning and are asking of the airport.

This is much in the same was that pre-T5, BA kept a single solitary route (MIA) at T3 to keep an eye on VS at terminal committee meetings.
ian001 is offline  
Old Dec 27, 16, 12:41 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,716
EI will not move to T5 for many reasons but mostly because EI are happy with T2 and the passenger experience. Coupled with their own lounge and the fact EI still feed a decent amount of Star Alliance traffic then there really is no need to move to T5. Those that really do not want a terminal change take the BA metal to T5 to connect to BA.
DELLAS is offline  
Old Dec 28, 16, 9:04 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,803
Originally Posted by DELLAS View Post
Those that really do not want a terminal change take the BA metal to T5 to connect to BA.
That's a very Dublin-centric perspective !
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Dec 28, 16, 9:30 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,716
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
That's a very Dublin-centric perspective !
Well DUB is the major airport on the Island. If there was a market for it we would see BA at ORK/SNN but there is not currently. It was not so long ago that SNN lost its SNN-LHR EI service for a while so changing from T2-T5 is hardly an issue and would be a lot more of a hassle for them to drive to DUB all the time. I cant think that anyone in their right mind would suggest moving to T5 just for the ORK / SNN folks...
DELLAS is offline  
Old Dec 29, 16, 5:36 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,803
Originally Posted by DELLAS View Post
Well DUB is the major airport on the Island. If there was a market for it we would see BA at ORK/SNN but there is not currently.
This is the EI forum! That BA no longer serves those airports is irrelevant. It's only recently that they returned to DUB anyway and there was much speculation as to whether they would continue after the EI IAG takeover.

Originally Posted by DELLAS View Post
I cant think that anyone in their right mind would suggest moving to T5 just for the ORK / SNN folks...
No-one did suggest that. Though it sounds like you seem to think that any move would only have been the DUB (and Belfast?) flights...which also makes little sense.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Dec 30, 16, 12:22 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,716
Originally Posted by irishguy28 View Post
This is the EI forum!
And your point is? Are you saying that because this is the EI forum we cant discuss/mention BA and their routes or lack of between Irish Airports and the UK? Bizarre
DELLAS is offline  
Old Jan 2, 17, 1:40 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,803
Originally Posted by DELLAS View Post
And your point is? Are you saying that because this is the EI forum we cant discuss/mention BA and their routes or lack of between Irish Airports and the UK? Bizarre
My point is: your original post was a very Dublin-centric view.

You then seemed to suggest that if moving was going to happen, it would only be the Dublin (and Belfast?) route, on the basis that BA wasn't sufficiently interested in connecting traffic from ORK/SNN given that they don't serve them. [Or maybe your point was that they wouldn't even want to have DI's DUB route in T5, given that they have their own flights to DUB now. It's not very clear to me].

But any decision would never be BA alone's to make so the reference to BA seemed irrelevant to me; I'm not sure EI would want to split their operation at LHR, and there clearly isn't room at T5 for all of EI.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Jan 4, 17, 1:32 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
If IAG decide it's better and more cost effective for EI to move to T5 then that's what will happen, EI themselves won't have much say if the powers that be decide they should move.
Irishspeedbirdflyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread