Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Aegean Airlines | Miles&Bonus
Reload this Page >

How do you apply for a refund with Aegean?

Old Jun 13, 20, 9:25 am
Original Poster

Phoned the airline and they flat out refused a refund despite multiple references to EU261 etc. Only offered a voucher or change of date.

They said that if I really want to push it, I need to fill out a customer relations contact form. Are they able to process the refund? I can't find this form on their website.

Has anyone managed to get a refund from aegean and if so, how?
Old Jun 13, 20, 9:37 am

Programs: A3 *G
I'd say you've got pretty much zero chance at the moment. I've been disputing a refund with them for three months now. For the first two moths they totally ignored all communications. When they finally answered they quoted the new Greek law (passed in early May I believe) which allows them to issue vouchers. When I queried this and pointed out that national law does NOT override EU law (EU.261) they went quiet again and have since ignored my last three emails. Apparently the EU commission have recently reiterated that EU.261 is still valid and that they will take "steps" against the governments of countries that do not abide, but until that happens I think Aegean will stand their ground, or at least pretend to be deaf. From other posts (do a search) it seems the best way is via your credit card company, if that's what you used for payment, and that a lot of the card companies are indeed making refunds.
Old Jun 13, 20, 9:43 am
Original Poster

Thanks.
Old Jun 13, 20, 3:54 pm

Originally Posted by Knobbgb View Post