Advice for ZRH based on A3 M&B Membership

Old Nov 17, 18, 1:27 am
Original Poster

Question Advice for ZRH based on A3 M&B Membership

Hi all

I am ZRH based and currently M&M Silver. When I'm a free agent end of the year, I'm thinking of switching to A3 M&B. I understand I need to have a few segments on A3 itself to Greece. I'm wondering if there are any other pitfalls or areas of consideration moving from M&M to M&B.

I mostly fly within Europe shorthauls to LHR/LCY, TXL, FRA, BCN, CDG with 2-3 trips to SEA, SFO/SJC and 1x/year BOM. This year I travelled only around 40k on LX/LH M&M and expect a similar pattern next year or a little less. I always fly cheapest economy possible and the BOM trip is business class.

Questions
- Would I get miles for the short haul trips on LH/LX? Currently I get 500 + Silver bonus 125.
- Do they count as status miles?
- Would A3 allow for upgrades on partner airlines like United?

Doing some searches, it appears many LX flights do not actually accrue miles/status on A3 so that is a deal breaker as I prefer to fly LX. Too bad as I'll never hit M&M Senator. Might be better to aim for UA Gold instead. Curious what the other A3 FTers can advise...thanks in advance

Last edited by MitzEclipse; Nov 17, 18 at 1:42 am
Old Nov 17, 18, 2:38 am

Programs: AFKL Gold, A3 Gold
The cheap(est) LX/LH/OS fares earn nothing, or almost nothing, in most FFPs. Exception to that rule is M&M where you always earn something (though generally also very low amounts for the cheapest fares).

With M&M silver you do get lounge access in the LX/LH/OS hubs right? So you do already get some tangible benefits. I'd be very careful to give those up when switching to another FFP.

However having said that - if you do the math and you ARE able to get A3 Gold, then you would get more benefits when flying other *A airlines. With Gold you always get access to a lounge, you'll get access to the Senator lounges with LH/LX/OS, etc.