Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Aegean Airlines | Miles&Bonus
Reload this Page >

Laptop/tablet in hand luggage restriction on A3 ex-IST?

Laptop/tablet in hand luggage restriction on A3 ex-IST?

Old Jul 16, 18, 3:24 am
  #1  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Programs: Battleaxe Alliance
Posts: 21,331
Laptop/tablet in hand luggage restriction on A3 ex-IST?

Is there a laptop/tablet in hand luggage restriction on A3 ex-IST (specifically the A3-operated service rather than TK codeshare or OA)?

I believe the restrictions are in place for some airlines (e.g. BA, where passengers are not allowed to carry laptop/tablets ex-IST and must be checked in) rather than the restriction being applied to all carriers, so I am wondering about A3.

It would be much appreciated if someone who have recently been there could tell me (I couldn't find anything about it on A3 website).

(If there is such a restriction, it's not a simple matter of checking it in for me - it's the matter of not booking the flight from there, as I cannot check it in, and I do not fly TK (which I believe do not have the restriction), so it's really down to 'not going there' as it's not 100% essential for me to go there - just a trade show.)

Last edited by LTN Phobia; Jul 16, 18 at 3:34 am
LTN Phobia is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 8:43 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomad
Programs: A3*G, TK*G, UIA PremEY Silv, CX Silv, Hyatt Diam, , Skyteam Elite+,HH Diam, SPG Plat100, EK Silv
Posts: 1,292
Nope. Only thing they they do at IST is to ask to open laptop and switch on tablets to be sure they are working.
Tips : get some battery on both for security check.
Last week was not restriction at all and never seen any restrictions at IST for ATH flight.
They just do an extra passeport check before checkin.
frenchft is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 8:53 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Programs: *A G, OW S, ST Elite.
Posts: 749
This is a UK government initiative to keep the worried worried and it doesn't apply to other airlines. At IST TK have processes in place to allow you to keep electronics on flights to the UK. BA have failed to comply with the new requirements so restrictions are in place on their services only.
irishguy28 likes this.
Dover2Golf is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 9:49 am
  #4  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Programs: Battleaxe Alliance
Posts: 21,331
Thanks very much for the info. Glad to hear I won't have to worry about having to check them in (I will certainly have the batteries charged up properly).
LTN Phobia is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 11:29 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomad
Programs: A3*G, TK*G, UIA PremEY Silv, CX Silv, Hyatt Diam, , Skyteam Elite+,HH Diam, SPG Plat100, EK Silv
Posts: 1,292
Originally Posted by LTN Phobia View Post
Thanks very much for the info. Glad to hear I won't have to worry about having to check them in (I will certainly have the batteries charged up properly).
yes, only thing I could advice is to get the gadgets and computer able to be switched on and you are good.
frenchft is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 11:44 am
  #6  
Carlson Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: OTP/KRK
Programs: M&M FTL, Flying Blue Silver, Miles+Bonus Gold, BAEC Blue
Posts: 596
Originally Posted by frenchft View Post
Nope. Only thing they they do at IST is to ask to open laptop and switch on tablets to be sure they are working.
Tips : get some battery on both for security check.
Last week was not restriction at all and never seen any restrictions at IST for ATH flight.
They just do an extra passeport check before checkin.
I think this is applicable for all flights leaving IST... I recently flew from IST to GYD, OTP, SFO and I was asked all the time at security check to turn on my macbook and ipad.
GBobon is offline  
Old Jul 17, 18, 3:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomad
Programs: A3*G, TK*G, UIA PremEY Silv, CX Silv, Hyatt Diam, , Skyteam Elite+,HH Diam, SPG Plat100, EK Silv
Posts: 1,292
Originally Posted by GBobon View Post
I think this is applicable for all flights leaving IST... I recently flew from IST to GYD, OTP, SFO and I was asked all the time at security check to turn on my macbook and ipad.
Same here, CDG - OTP - BKK - KUL - Domestic flights - SIN with various airlines and always been asked.
frenchft is offline  
Old Jul 17, 18, 11:52 am
  #8  
:D!
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Aberdeen, Bella Vista and Croydon
Programs: BA Spire, Hilton *G, A3 Diamond, IHG Silver
Posts: 4,430
I've been asked to turn on my laptops at the security check at the entrance to the IST terminal, but not at the security checks to go airside. However, I've only gone through the Business/Gold screening area and actually they don't even seem to care there ... perhaps they figure that the guys at the terminal entrance have already done the work
:D! is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread