FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - President proposes increasing taxes on air tickets to pay for security
Old Jan 29, 05, 3:41 am
Bart
Suspended

Originally Posted by bocastephen
I am very troubled by any TSA mindset that considers passenger convenience, comfort, or respect to be something dangerous to the process or an annoying inconvenience that we should 'get over'. WE the passengers are PAYING the security fee, therefore the fee should be used to both enhance security and benefit us in balance. It is OUR money.
I respect that view. Allow me to elaborate. The security I am most familiar with is rooted in my military background. I have over 20 years experience dealing mostly with the type of security used to counter attempts by hostile intelligence services to acquire classified information through open source research, exploitation of certain international data exchange agreements and espionage. My other areas of expertise also dealt with the protection of facilities from international terrorism, hostile military special purpose forces attacks and domestic criminal activities. I come from a background inwhich security is a very serious matter.

At TSA, we either provide security or we do not. Security, by definition, means inconvenience. It is designed to slow down entry into any protected facility to allow for increased scrutiny to both deter attempts by less determined foes and increase the challenges to more determined ones. Within this same context, security can be performed either wisely or foolishly. This is why, from time to time, I will get on my soap box about risk management as opposed to risk avoidance.