Old Aug 26, 19, 12:06 pm
  #13  
flightrisk
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: DFW/PHL
Programs: US CP, UA *G; SPG Plat, Hilton Gold; Natl Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 560
Originally Posted by Uzzar View Post
My personal experience is exactly the same as the OP. When taking a later flight due to delays (through the app OR on the phone) i have always been placed back into Y even if teh upgrade was previously confirmed on the original. At least once the phone agent told me i was on the upgrade list for the new flight, but the gate agent did not see me and i was not on the board or in the app.
My understanding is that when the "R" bucket started being used for upgrades earlier this summer, that allowed confirmed upgrades to be transferred to new flights when available. I have been able to do this with the app. But obviously there are lots of different scenarios as I believe AA will offer J seats during IRROPS even if not upgraded, and agents have always seemed to have discretion to rebook upgrades as well.
flightrisk is offline