FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - The Official - GLOBAL UPGRADE CERT success thread - Yay! I got it!
Old Apr 4, 2019, 6:16 pm
CGNC

Programs: DL DM, UA & AA Peeon, Hilton/Starwood Gold
Question New GUC Redemption Extreme or Norm?

The Context: As a DM, I make 4-5 trips to East Africa a year, generally frequenting the same destinations, and flying similar routings. XXX-ATL/DTW/JFK-AMS-EBB/NBO. I'm a veteran of GUC redemptions and generally like to use them heading west-bound when possible. I now know the drill in terms of finding Z availability on Expert Flyer, calling in, asking for those flight numbers, etc. In the past, this has been on par with an Olympic sport. I usually wait until i have no appointments for the next few hours before I call, knowing it might be a bear. And even then, I'm sometimes getting callbacks, etc.

The last three bookings have all resulted in some conversation with a supervisor who is telling me the GUC must be booked in Y, B or M fare and/or you must find availability as a thru fare with KLM, not point-to-point or flight-by-flight. And in each situation, the ticket has been resolved in a different way. Once it was actually done well and I was given SM for my time, another time they offered to just put me in Delta One on the DL segments (w/o GUC redemption) because they could see Z-fare space on KL but not ticket it and another time I ended up nowhere but richer with SMs as a thank you once again for my patience. I called the next day and it was sorted out rather quickly.