FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Terrible experience with a gate agent (and excellent service at the Admirals Club)
Old Mar 8, 2018, 11:11 am
birddogmax

Programs: AAdvantage
Terrible experience with a gate agent (and excellent service at the Admirals Club)

Over the years I've read a number of stories here on FT about gate agents behaving badly. As a lifelong AA flyer, I've also seen quite a few cringeworthy incidents. As a Dallas resident, I also talk to a lot of FA's and other employees in social settings who also share their stories. And I know plenty of GA's who have their own horror stories to tell about passengers (and have witnessed a lot of bad pax behavior in person). But today I had a terrible experience the likes of which I've never seen before, followed by an equally great experience, all within the space of an hour.

It started with my wife an I traveling on an AA domestic flight ex-DFW to make a connection to a TATL BA flight. We both had carry ons and initially everything was going normally until we were halfway down the jet bridge and the gate agent starts yelling after us. They were being rather aggressive about checking bag size, so she wanted to put my wife's bag in the sizer, but was apparently thought we were ignoring her. In reality, neither of us ever heard her ask my wife to size the bag and I was paying close attention as I saw how other passengers were being checked. Ok, no big deal, maybe yelling at us wasn't the best approach but just put the bag in the sizer, take a few items out if it doesn't quite fit, move on. No big deal.