FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - RIP CVG
Thread: RIP CVG
View Single Post
Old Jun 24, 2011, 4:41 pm
Feather Man

Programs: Delta - PM / MM, UA 1K Starwood-Gold
RIP CVG

I have been contemplating this thread for several years. From a pragmatic and intellectual level, I fully understand that DL cannot support so many hubs, and I have tried in vain to look at the changes at CVG dispassionately. But the most recent cuts that reduced CVG to 150 flights a day has pushed me over the edge....

I can't say I am surprised. After all, what would a reasonable person expect would happen after the ex-CEO of NW, who built DTW into the hub it was for NW, realistically think would happen to CVG?

I was going to disparage and ridicule Dick Anderson in this thread. In preparation for writing this thread, I checked out his bio. Unfortunately for me, he has overcome personal tragedy ( parents dying while in college and being forced to take care of his younger siblings while attending college), so my initial goal of ridiculing him as a "frat boy from Houston Univ" is not going to fly. I just don't roll that way.

But I am still so pissed off I doubt I will ever feel the same way again about DL. I feel like CVG has been lied to and betrayed, the faithful wife left for the skank pole dancer named DTW. I am the idiot that supported DL even when air fares were the highest in the USA...for over 10 years ! Or the fact that my fellow CVG flyers who would go to DAY to take their trips (that would connect through CVG) and pay $400.00 less for their ticket and still have a higher fare designation, and thus getting the upgrade that should have gone to a flyer who was paying $400.00 more for two segments less.

I am the DL idiot who bought DL stock the day the market opened after 9/11, just to show my support for my airline in a difficult time.