FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Sample Anti-Body-Scanner Letters to Congress, Airlines
Old Oct 27, 2010, 5:02 pm
LessO2
FlyerTalk Evangelist

My suggestion:

Dear Sir or Madam:

I joined the American Airlines AAdvantage program in August 1993 as a high school student when I was preparing to take my first AAdvantage trip to visit my prospective university. Since that time, I attended that university, graduated with honors, earned degrees and experience, entered the workforce, and started my own business which is now prospering. Now, at the age of 34, I have been an Executive Platinum passenger for over 5 years in a row. I am a resident of the Dallas-Fort Worth area, proud to call American Airlines “my” airline, and proud to call the United States of America my home. I am living the American dream.

However, the extent of my loyalty and pride will only go so far. I am outraged and appalled at the practices that are occurring at airports around the country by low-level security agents under the auspices and direction of the TSA. The screening techniques that are being used on law-abiding citizens on an everyday basis and at whim are unacceptable and must be stopped. The use of whole-body imaging and “enhanced” pat-downs are egregious violations of the rights of American citizens guaranteed by the Fourth Amendment to the Constitution.

(I would put something a little more human to the last part of that last paragraph, saying something to the effect that it's a shame that having dignity is something else that is not allowed past the checkpoint, and that you do not intend to continue flying at the cost of it).