FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Do all Avis Cars have 25K+ Miles
View Single Post
Old Dec 2, 2008, 3:36 pm
ezmonee

Exclamation

what you are seeing is indicative of the current economy. During the summer, the economy really started moving south. The cost of cars and obtaining long term and short term "turnback" purchases grew significantly. coupled with the gas price spike, the car reps had no choice but to turn back much of their fleet earlier than they wanted to. While this rant is specifically about Avis, I am sure it effected all companies in similar ways. the big difference is some of the other companies naturally kept their cars longer than avis by business model so its not as apparent.

I am a former manager for avis and I know what I am talking about when I talk about the Detroit automaker's turnback programs. The way it works is a sliding scale. GM cars for example allow you to keep the cars for 12-20 months (depending on the tier). Depending on how long you've had the car, there is a scale that says how much miles the car has on it (go figure). The scale, in the case, is critical because in the turnback program, the GM automaker will buy back the car in a process called "turning back" as long as very specific criteria is met and receive specific buyback prices set in stone based on that criteria. This criteria is set in stone and is strongly enforced (probably moreso now). If a car is rejected, the car cannot be turned back to the dealer and the rental company owns the car until they decide to sell it themselves on the used car market.