0 min left

TSA PreCheck Adds 5 More Airlines, Expands List to 47 Total

Luckily for those travelers who hate taking laptops out and shoes off at the airport, the Transportation Security Administration keeps adding airlines to its PreCheck list.

The updated list includes five international airlines:

  • Air France
  • Brussels Airlines
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
  • Philippine Airlines
  • World Atlantic Airlines

“These new partnerships will significantly increase the trusted traveler population as TSA continues its efforts to raise the baseline for aviation security,” is stated in a press release. “TSA is committed to increasing the number of airlines participating in TSA Pre✓® and helping more eligible travelers across the country to experience expedited screening.”

Effective immediately, passengers of 47 carriers going through security screenings at U.S. airports can keep their shoes on and enjoy the relatively quick process.

The list of carriers that already participate in the program include Aeromexico, Air Canada, Alaska Airlines, All Nippon Airways, Allegiant Air, American Airlines, Aruba Airlines, Avianca, Boutique Airlines, Cape Air, Cathay Pacific Airways, Contour Aviation, Copa Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Dominican Wings, Emirates, Etihad Airways, Finnair, Frontier Airlines, Hawaiian Airlines, InterCaribbean Airways, JetBlue Airways, Key Lime Air, Korean Air, Lufthansa, Miami Air International, OneJet, Seaborne Airlines, Southern Airways Express, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines, Sun Country Airlines, Sunwing Airlines, Swift Air, Turkish Airlines, United Airlines, Virgin America, Virgin Atlantic, WestJet and Xtra Airways.
TSA PreCheck is a trusted-traveler program that allows pre-screened travelers to go through an expedited security line before boarding a plane, but it isn’t free. TSA PreCheck costs $85 every five years, which makes the annual rate $17. If you travel for either business or pleasure frequently, the fee is worth not having to take off your shoes for the umpteenth time this month.

Global Entry is another trusted-traveler program by the U.S. Customs and Border Protection that allows low-risk flyers to go through expedited customs when returning to the U.S. and includes PreCheck in the membership. Global Entry costs $100 every five years and is more beneficial to globetrotters who travel abroad often.

If you look forward to upcoming travel on any of the newly added airlines, go ahead and add your Known Traveler Number to your reservation to save time at the airport and sleep in a little longer…but not too long if you still want to make the flight.

Comments are Closed.
thorofare February 6, 2018

Time for British Airways to get on board.

J S February 5, 2018

JFK T1 does have a pre-check queue. It is on the left. Bigger question: I still do not understand why pre-check is tied to airlines at all. Why can they not simply set it up for the scanner to query the TSA's database based on presentation of a global entry card and verify that the card is legit and valid?

downinit February 3, 2018

I never realized what an atrocious airline JAL was until after I booked a ticket. Between their absurd advanced seat selection policy, their completely worthless app, and their stubborn refusal to participate in Precheck, I can safely say that my first trip on JAL will be my last trip. I will stick with ANA and Singapore for my LAX-TYO runs from now on. At least I have Clear for this trip.

Mama February 3, 2018

LAX international terminal (for international flights) does not have a PreCheck queue either. ATL PreCheck queue only operated in certain hours. I had an early morning departure last year at ATL and the TSA line was long at 5:30AM. TSA told me the PreCheck queue doesn't start until 6:30AM

kkua February 2, 2018

Just because the airlines are participants of PreCheck, it does not mean the airport will support it. JFK-1 has AeroMexico and Korean Airlines, but the terminal does not have a PreCheck queue. That terminal is nasty during congested departure banks. Maybe this will change now that AirFrance passengers are now eligible.