0 min left

Delta Raises the Qualifying Bar for Elite Status


Beginning in 2015, it will take more Medallion Qualifying Dollars to reach Silver, Gold, Platinum and Diamond status with Delta Air Lines.

Delta Air Lines plans to make it more difficult to earn elite Medallion status starting on January 1. On its website, Delta said the move is intended to “add even more exclusivity to the SkyMiles Medallion program.” The thresholds will increase to qualify for elite status in 2016 based on the Medallion Qualifying Dollars (MQDs) spent in 2015.

The MQDs spend threshold to qualify for Silver Medallion status will increase from $2,500 to $3,000. Gold Medallion status will require a minimum spend of $6,000 MQDs, up from $5,000. Platinum Medallion status will require a minimum spend of $9,000, up from $7,500. The minimum amount of MQDs flyers will need to spend to earn coveted Diamond Medallion status will increase a whopping $2,500, jumping from $12,500 to $15,000.

Delta also announced that the period to earn qualifying points will begin earlier:

The Medallion year traditionally begins March 1 each year to allow time for Medallion membership packages to be delivered. With the streamlined production of membership packages and the availability of digital SkyMiles and Medallion cards in the Fly Delta app, we are able to begin the Medallion year earlier. Starting in 2016, the Medallion year will begin February 1 and subsequently, the 2015 Medallion year will end on January 31, 2016.

Delta added that the MQDs requirements will continue to be waived for flyers who spend at least $25,000 using their Delta SkyMiles Credit Card.

[Photo: iStock]

Comments are Closed.
FlyingWithers October 13, 2014

They can do what they. I am so gone from Delta.

starflyer October 13, 2014

Delta is notorious for making such changes. The main reason I simply refuse to collect SkyMiles or fly Delta or SkyTeam.

vinco October 11, 2014

So the 2015 Medallion year for which I have already qualified will be cut short by one month. Is it right (or even lawful) to change the period for which I receive benefits I have earned?