Go Back   > > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 17, 10, 7:10 pm   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA, USA
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Platinum, United Club Life Member, UA *S
Posts: 977
Free wifi coming to DCA & IAD

Not tomorrow exactly, but sometime "this spring", according to numerous stories such as http://washingtonexaminer.com/local/...ional-airports
Annandaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 10, 5:59 pm   #2
  
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DCA/PIT/DEN
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott GLD
Posts: 8
Thank goodness! I am always in and out of DCA or IAD, and rely on my Blackberry for internet. That's one thing I love on the return trips from PIT, however. I'm always at the airports early, so wifi will be nice. Thank you MWAA :-P
wvhoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 11, 10:15 am   #3
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA, USA
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Platinum, United Club Life Member, UA *S
Posts: 977
I'm now hearing that April 15, 2011 will be the changeover date to free wifi. Hope that turns out to be true.
Annandaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 11, 6:44 am   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: JER
Programs: BAEC Gold/OWE, MUCCIx4, "gold" with AA, AZ, Avis, Sixt, HHons, Sandals.
Posts: 23,252
Excellent ... just in time for my next trip!
T8191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 11, 8:23 pm   #5
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA, USA
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Platinum, United Club Life Member, UA *S
Posts: 977
It was confirmed today that IAD and DCA will have FREE WIFI starting 4/15.
Annandaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 11, 11:36 am   #6
  
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, SPG PLT
Posts: 1,611
Great news - I enjoyed this at SFO the last few times that I've been...now it won't be so bad to wait around at either airport

-jeremy
kmfdm91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 11, 3:45 pm   #7
  
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: IAD/DCA
Programs: UA 1K 2MM; HH Diamond; Hyatt Platinum; MR Gold; SPG Gold
Posts: 1,322
Well, this'll certainly affect my decision when it comes time to consider renewing my airport club membership . . .
gvdIAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 11, 7:47 pm   #8
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA, USA
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Platinum, United Club Life Member, UA *S
Posts: 977
I've heard (no confirmation yet) that the Red Carpet Clubs expect to be able to provide much better (faster?) wifi to compete with free airport wifi. Club membership might still be valuable.
Annandaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 11, 9:45 am   #9
  
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AA/US - Platinum; 1W Sapphire; HHonors - Silver; UA dirt
Posts: 4,000
Good news. Just be careful with free wifi. I got a nice trojan loaded onto my system the last time I did free airport wifi - at IAH.
IADCAflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 11, 11:16 am   #10
  
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: IAD
Programs: United MP
Posts: 6,749
Would be great if the signal reached as far as Gravelly Point.
DeafFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 11, 12:25 pm   #11
  
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, SPG PLT
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafFlyer View Post
Would be great if the signal reached as far as Gravelly Point.
Or my condo, exactly .45 miles from the end of the shorter runway - but that's from a runway...not the terminal.

Still, it will be nice to have this for sure at the airport...especially at long connections at IAD!

-jeremy
kmfdm91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 11, 1:35 pm   #12
  
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: Hertz 5*, B9/WN/VX convert, HH Diamond, SPG Plat, Costco, Costco, Costco!
Posts: 1,290
Wireless live at IAD

Posted this in the UAL forum because I thought it would be of most interest to UAL people since A/C/D terminals are UA, but evidently I made the wrong posting choice.

Anywho, free WIFI went live at IAD on 4/15. I was at the airport this morning and found the signal pretty good throughout. Use the AT&T network.
dcstudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 11, 7:39 pm   #13
  
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SJC
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 1,628
Does the AT&T landing page still identify your location as "Dulles International Airport, Baltimore, Maryland" ?
SFOSpiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 11, 11:49 am   #14
  
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DCA, IAD (not BWI if I can help it)
Programs: UA 1K, Amtrak S, AA PLT, AB Gold, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Plat, status-free on AS, B6, VX, WN
Posts: 870
Good reporting

Thanks, Annandaler, for yet another scoop about MWAA. You've run up an impressive track record [tips cap]
DCA writer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 11, 2:17 pm   #15
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: JER
Programs: BAEC Gold/OWE, MUCCIx4, "gold" with AA, AZ, Avis, Sixt, HHons, Sandals.
Posts: 23,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCA writer View Post
Thanks, Annandaler, for yet another scoop about MWAA. You've run up an impressive track record [tips cap]
Agreed entirely ... tips bowler hat, being British!

I hope to meet up for a beer next month
T8191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top