Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Virgin Australia | Velocity
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 25, 11, 11:53 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MEL
Programs: NZ Gold QF QC Gold UA Premier Executive
Posts: 159
business class 737

Hi - is there a way to tell in advance if your 737 flight has new business class cabin.

I have noticed on 2 upcoming seat map flights for Dec it shows the premium cabin as 2 x 2 rather than 3 x 3 (with the middle seat marked n/a). If it shows 2x2 does this mean the bird is fitted with new business class seating?
CorporateFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 11, 4:28 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*G ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,982
There's a whole thread on this on AFF. Up until about a month ago the was a relatively simple and reliable method; however in recent times it's become a bit less precise, mainly due to the semi refitted DJ aircraft out there (i.e. On the front cabin has been upgraded).

See here: How to tell if you are on an aircraft with the new cabin...
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 11, 8:20 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*G ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,982
It seems with a mix of old (PE), refitted and BSI the presence of a Left/port/ABC side bulkhead in front of row 1A/B/C indicates the new Business seating rather than PE. The BSI aircraft do not generally have the N/A in the B/E columns, just a 'blank' space.

"Old" PE seating:



"New" Business Seating:

OR

Last edited by serfty; Dec 16, 11 at 6:54 pm.
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 12:19 am   #4
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OOL/DOH
Programs: QF SG, TK *G, FB Gold, QR Silver, Avis Pres Club, HH Diam, PC Plat, Hyatt Diam.
Posts: 2,356
unless you join that site, you cannot view the images...
__________________
beware of fundamentalists
VH-RMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 4:19 am   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Programs: VA Plat, HHDiamond, PCGold, AF Gold
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by VH-RMD View Post
unless you join that site, you cannot view the images...

We all need to make this forum the first stop for info on Velocity instead of people always referring back to other sites

Serfty is correct with that info...are you able to post the images on here? They are not showing up
Jinxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 6:49 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG ►NZ*G ►VA WP ►HHD ►IHG G
Posts: 16,982
It would help if FT would fix their galleries and allow image uploads to be successful. I have fixed the links. I'll continue to refer to both sites as appropriate.
serfty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 11, 10:15 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Programs: VA Plat, HHDiamond, PCGold, AF Gold
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by serfty View Post
It would help if FT would fix their galleries and allow image uploads to be successful. I have fixed the links. I'll continue to refer to both sites as appropriate.
Great, can see the pics now. Many thanks Serfty!
Jinxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 11, 1:58 am   #8
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Sunny SYDNEY! ☻♥◙♦☺◄◄◄◘○♦,♂◄►.
Programs: UA 1K Million Miler. Virgin Plat. HH Diamond + SPG Gold☻♥◙♦☺◄&#
Posts: 31,853
The last 3 flights I have asked check in or Lounge if the plane is a new or old config.

EACH time they ummed and aaahed and said it really is not shown to them. It 2 or the 3 cases there were 2 staffers playing around the screen to check.

The last flight a week ADL-SYD back the girl wrestled with it and said "YES - it is the new config."

Very nice as we had been ungraded.

You guessed it - OLD config once we boarded.

So if staff are unsure, it seems very hit and miss.
ozstamps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 11, 1:22 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney, AU.
Programs: QF. UA. Avis. AMEX.
Posts: 1,558
From my limited experience DJ seem to swap aircraft fairly frequently so I don't get too excited until I am on board. However in "Premium" there is little difference IMHO between new and old from a practical perspective and I am happy with either. At least old has IFE.

This is not a criticism but a personal value that I have found both new and old to be fine for short haul flying. I would avoid both for anything trans-con however or international.
nonce is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 5:27 am.