Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Virgin America | Elevate pre 2018
Reload this Page >

If you paid for express don't expect a discount or credit when upgrading to MCS

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 21, 2014, 9:35 am
Original Poster

I'm flying to DCA tomorrow and purchased Main Cabin Express for $30 when making my reservation. Upon checking in this morning I decided to take the $159 upgrade to MCS thinking maybe my Express purchase would be taken into account. I was wrong. I contacted Virgin America to see about getting a refund or credit for the $30, but they won't do it. They see Express the same as Main. So I basically wasted $30. I will not be making this mistake on my return flight.

Having recently moved over from UA I am still learning the nuances of Virgin America.

While I seriously doubt it, I will talk to someone at the airport tomorrow to see if they can do something.
Old Mar 22, 2014, 8:21 am
Original Poster

Just an update , while customer service was unwilling to credit back my $30, the very friendly gate agent took care of it without issue.
Old Apr 11, 2014, 9:26 pm

Programs: 1K 2.2MM
I just did teh same darn thing...but my fight is still a ways out. i wonder if they will refund it since its less than 24 hours since i bought it?
Old Apr 12, 2014, 12:22 pm

Programs: 1K 2.2MM
Update on my post above...I called today when i got a minute and agent refunded the $30. Wasn't clear to me if she was making an exception since it was bought less than 24 hours ago....
Old Apr 15, 2014, 3:10 am

Originally Posted by 1k-all-the-way
I called today when i got a minute and agent refunded the $30. Wasn't clear to me if she was making an exception since it was bought less than 24 hours ago....