Wiki Posts
Search

DM to Africa-Possible??

Search this Thread

Old Mar 27, 2007, 12:49 am
Original Poster

Programs: NWA, AA, UAL, Starwood, Marriott
DM to Africa-Possible??

I am new to US Air DM. I have enough miles for my first award reservation. I want to go from SAN-NBO and return open jaw Cairo-SAN. We are a family of 4 and want to travel next year. Does anyone have experience booking 4 rewards seats for the same booking? Does Lufthansa or Swiss ever open up 4 seats? Do you have any suggestions?
Old Mar 27, 2007, 12:54 am

Programs: DL - exPlat (now Gold) ; AB - Gold ; TK - Gold; BMI - exGold; US - exChairman ; UA-ex1K; NW-exGold
Have you looked at SA?
Old Mar 27, 2007, 5:42 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AA 2MM Yay!, UA MM, Costco General Member
Originally Posted by sefrischling
Have you looked at SA?
Good suggestion. Good airline too from what I have read. Im not sure about open jaws. When we went into Lukasa and out from Capetown last year the person arranging our in Africa travel said that she thought BA was the only major to allow open jaws on purchased tickets without jacking up the price. Not sure if she was right or how that would effect an award ticket.
Old Mar 27, 2007, 6:30 am
Marriott Contributor Badge

Programs: AA Exec Platinum, SPG Platinum / Ambassador / Lifetime Gold, Avis FIRST
It should be possible according to *A rules.

Call the 800 number until you hear a southern accent. Trust me on this one.

Also, investigate all the possible routings (SA, LX, LH etc.) yourself before calling.
Old Mar 27, 2007, 7:37 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: A menace to everything in the sky. Yes. Even birds.
Programs: Eh+ Rapid Rolleyes
First to answer the question, yes, it is possible to book a trip to Africa using Dividend Miles. I've done it (with a bit of flexibitlity and patience), kind of.

Now for the story, which pains me to recount.

I had a trip booked that went:

JFK - ZRH (Swiss)