Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Booking on Partner Airlines.

Search this Thread

Old Mar 20, 2013, 7:42 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Hyatt Platinum, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold, MileagePlus Silver & Others.
Booking on Partner Airlines.

I am new to US Airways, so I apologize if this is an obvious question. I tried to search for information, but I didn't see any clear answers.

I'm trying to travel from Newark, NJ to Indianapolis, Indiana on August 13th and returning on August 19th.

US Airways has it as 12,500 miles going and 30,000 miles returning for a total of 42,500.

However, via United I see I can do it for 10,000 each way.

Since I have US Airways miles, I can I book the flight through US Airways on United for the 10k each way award ticket (total of 20k miles)? If so, do I just call US Airways to book the ticket?

I did notice that US Airways lists its partner award tickets at 25,000 for domestic economy class. Is the locked in as 25,000 on all available partner award tickets? And is that round-trip or each way?

Sorry for the newbie questions and I appreciate the help in advance.
Old Mar 20, 2013, 7:43 pm

Programs: A3 Gold, BA Bronze
Nope. The mileage requirements are different for each airline. It may be 10,000 each way using UA miles...but using US miles it's 25,000. And that 25,000 is round trip on US, as they only do round trip awards. On UA you can get one-way awards.
Old Mar 20, 2013, 7:48 pm
Original Poster

Okay. But I can book the flight on United via US Airways? And it'll cost me 25,000 US Airways miles? Because that'll still be cheaper, mileage-wise, than if I booked it on US Airways itself for 42,500 miles.
Old Mar 20, 2013, 8:36 pm

You have two choices here: Use UA miles at the prices listed for flights on their site, or use US miles at the prices listed for flights on their site.
Old Mar 20, 2013, 8:56 pm

Programs: US CP, Hilton Diamond, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum