Go Back   > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 24, 13, 11:40 pm   #301
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1.7MM, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver
Posts: 38,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiwindham View Post
Confused about UA 200 GUM-IAH on 2/14. Plane stops in HNL before continuing to IAH.
UA site doesn't show Business, only Global First and economy.
Seat guru has it as version 5 leaving GUM and version 4 leaving HNL.
Any thoughts?
Seatguru is unreliable but there is a plane change in HNL, even though the flight number is unchanged.
The GUM-HNL is 2-class (no business)
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 25, 13, 12:01 pm   #302
  
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
... there is a plane change in HNL, even though the flight number is unchanged.
The GUM-HNL is 2-class (no business)
Still confused.
The UA booking for this flight does not refer to a "connection time" in HNL but labels it "time on the ground", implying it's the same aircraft. Further, when selecting the flight it does not offer seat selection for 2 planes but only 1 plane, suggesting it uses the same plane.

More to my confusion...it allows booking Business Class but when choosing "view seats" it shows only economy and Global First.

So if we book Business Class do we end up with Global First service on both flights?

And how can we monitor whether this plane (or planes) will be retrofitted over the next 11 months to offer lie-flat?
skiwindham is offline  
Old Apr 25, 13, 3:43 pm   #303
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1.7MM, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver
Posts: 38,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiwindham View Post
Still confused. ..
very understandable
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiwindham View Post
The UA booking for this flight does not refer to a "connection time" in HNL but labels it "time on the ground", implying it's the same aircraft. Further, when selecting the flight it does not offer seat selection for 2 planes but only 1 plane, suggesting it uses the same plane.
there is a plane change, you can see in looking at flight status.

This confusion is a common issue in "direct flights" (flights with same flight number but stops & plane changes) and the website can not handle the seating issue properly. Best to call

Quote:
Originally Posted by skiwindham View Post
...More to my confusion...it allows booking Business Class but when choosing "view seats" it shows only economy and Global First. ...So if we book Business Class do we end up with Global First service on both flights? ....
the GUM-HNL is a domestic config 2-class plane and the HNL-IAH is a 3-class old style config. a business class ticket will be in business on the 3-class and first on the 2-class. The seats are the same -- the older barcalounger seats (no lay flat on this route).

Quote:
Originally Posted by skiwindham View Post
... And how can we monitor whether this plane (or planes) will be retrofitted over the next 11 months to offer lie-flat?
there are no announced plans either segment will get lie-flat. The assigned aircraft have been moved to this route in the past year.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 28, 13, 4:02 am   #304
Formerly known as CollegeFlyer
  
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: JRA
Programs: UA 1K MM, AA PLT, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 6,690
Remember when IPTE was first announced in 2007, UA claimed that conversions would be completed in 2009? LOL!
EsquireFlyer is offline  
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top