Go Back   > > >

Old Nov 26, 10, 11:29 am   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,447
Frozen/Broken FIDS (Flight Information Display System)

I wonder if UA has a process to fix broken FIDS quickly. Does it help if we report problems to the gate agents?

Last Sunday in SFO, I passed by a set of them after 8 PM, yet the time on the FIDS are about 2 PM (frozen). It makes me wonder how in a busy hub, this kind of thing can be left unreported/unfixed for extended period of time.

I was looking at another set down the concourse and the arrivals screen was not refreshing properly.

I have also observed FIDS a few months ago at IAD that are displayed all different directions (side ways, etc.).

How they can be left broken and unfixed in hub airports really makes me wonder. Do they test them thoroughly? Do they monitor them to make sure they work? Do they have a process of fixing them quickly?

Thanks.
username is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 4:11 pm   #2
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: MileagePlus
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by username View Post
I wonder if UA has a process to fix broken FIDS quickly. Does it help if we report problems to the gate agents?
Yes and Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by username View Post
Do they monitor them to make sure they work? Do they have a process of fixing them quickly? ?
No they are not monitored as the reliability is very high. About the only problem I've ever seen is a flight missing maybe every 6-12 months. The flat panels are thin clients and I've seen a system freeze twice in the 2 or so years since they were installed in the SFO lobby. We have a central help desk to report equipment failures. Repair of the old TV monitors often took quite a while because when they went out needed parts weren't readily available.
SFOFastAir is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 8:02 pm   #3
  
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,231
Same thing happened on same day at ORD. It was reported and fixed via the system support desk.
fastair is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 9:10 pm   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS | MCI
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, G.E./NEXUS, Amex, UA 1K/RCC, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 19,822
Except for an issue where a few mainline flights show as departing from the F2B gate area, I've not see any problems with the FIDS this year. There are certain times when the transitions between screens are very rough, but other than that,
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 10:44 pm   #5
Original Poster
  
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,447
So, from the UA airport employees' comments here, there is a process to fix this and all I need is to report to any employee?

The SFO employee seemed to know what to do. When this happned at IAD, I did not report it - it was so obvious that it was broken.
username is offline  
 


Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:57 pm.

Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top