Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger) [closed to posting]
Sign in using an external account

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:21 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1KMM, Flying Blue Plat, IC Plat Amb
Posts: 260
Seat Change....moved back (subtitle: email address)

On Sunday, I took #134 (DEN-DTW). 737, so reserved 10A (exit window with no seat in front), checked in night before, wandered to the gate to board. Pretty normal day so far.

When I scan my BP, the error msg comes up that "Needs new BP For 11A" or something similar. Guy hands me a new BP and I ask if there was an aircraft change, he nods and I shrug and move on. The fact that it's the dreaded economy blue is bothering me a bit, but I dont pay it much mind. I get on and realize...it's still a 737, 11A is behind 10A and in regular economy.

I go back out to the GA and ask what happened, he says he's not sure, but the plane is full now, so nothing he can do. When the guy comes and sits in 10A, he turns out to be a non-MP member, and that's the seat he was assigned. Obviously, as a 1P, I'm not happy. Looking around seatguru when I got here, I noticed that, while the configs of 737's differ, there is ALWAYS a 10A.

Long story short:

Why would they do this?

Who should I email to ensure someone at least responds and/or reads it? (outside of the 'contact us' form on united.bomb)

Thanks....vent over
cedahm is offline  
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:23 pm   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Nah.
Posts: 13,680
When there is an equipment swap, all bets are off with old seat assignments. I know it seems simple just to keep everyone in the same seats, but for a lot of reasons, it doesn't seem to be possible.
__________________
This post is within the FT TOS!
qasr is offline  
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:35 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BRU
Programs: DL Gold, Amex Plt
Posts: 1,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by qasr
When there is an equipment swap, all bets are off with old seat assignments. I know it seems simple just to keep everyone in the same seats, but for a lot of reasons, it doesn't seem to be possible.
There was no equipment swap.. what are you talking about?
UAalltheway is offline  
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:39 pm   #4
Moderator, United Airlines, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Over-Entitled COdbaUA-1kMM, HH Plebe, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 25,530
having had this happen after checking in on-line, the first, and i mean the first thing i do when arriving at the airport is re-print my bp's from mr/ms easy as if there's been an eqipment change, i'll know right then and at least be somewhat ahead of the game. i'll then immediately try and change my seats wtih mr/ms easy to what i want and if no go, then it's off to the 1k and/or cust service desk to see what they can do. sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't but at least i gave it a fighting chance
Quote:
Originally Posted by UAalltheway
There was no equipment swap.. what are you talking about?
op said the g/a told him there was an aircraft change so perhaps is was an ugly 37 to an uglier 37
__________________
Moe, Larry, the cheese
goalie is offline  
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:41 pm   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Nah.
Posts: 13,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by UAalltheway
There was no equipment swap.. what are you talking about?
There may have been an equipment swap. The OP only said it was still a 737 and the GA said there was an equipment swap. 737 layouts differ and the exit rows can be rows can be 9, 10 or 11 depending which might have caused the problem.

Most likely the OP moved to a 735 where row 10 is in E- and the exit is row 9. The OP previously might have been in a 733 or 735 ex-SHT where 10A is the exit with no seat in front.
__________________
This post is within the FT TOS!
qasr is offline  
Old Jun 6, 06, 9:42 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Nah.
Posts: 13,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by cedahm
Looking around seatguru when I got here, I noticed that, while the configs of 737's differ, there is ALWAYS a 10A.
Actually, according to seatguru, the 733 ex-SHT does not have a 10A.
__________________
This post is within the FT TOS!
qasr is offline  
Old Jun 8, 06, 1:27 am   #7
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1KMM, Flying Blue Plat, IC Plat Amb
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by qasr
There may have been an equipment swap. The OP only said it was still a 737 and the GA said there was an equipment swap. 737 layouts differ and the exit rows can be rows can be 9, 10 or 11 depending which might have caused the problem.

Most likely the OP moved to a 735 where row 10 is in E- and the exit is row 9. The OP previously might have been in a 733 or 735 ex-SHT where 10A is the exit with no seat in front.
Sorry, was in a work nightmare all day and didn't get to look back until just now. Thanks for the replies. I think I'll be reprinting @ the airport to avoid this from now on, although it still rubs me wrong (not to mention defeats the purpose of checking in online in the first place ).

The GA told me they'd switched versions of 37's. The 'new' one WAS the
-300 (not sure what the original was supposed to be). In any event, 10A is still exit/no seat in front on a -300, so I couldn't figure out why I got moved to E- and non-MP member got 10A (and subsequently tried jamming his bag under his seat, which I curtly told him would have to be removed from my feet and placed under 8A, to which he responded "all the way up there?"...not the right thing to say to the previous holder of that seat).
cedahm is offline  
Old Jun 8, 06, 1:42 am   #8
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1KMM, Flying Blue Plat, IC Plat Amb
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by qasr
There may have been an equipment swap. The OP only said it was still a 737 and the GA said there was an equipment swap. 737 layouts differ and the exit rows can be rows can be 9, 10 or 11 depending which might have caused the problem.

Most likely the OP moved to a 735 where row 10 is in E- and the exit is row 9. The OP previously might have been in a 733 or 735 ex-SHT where 10A is the exit with no seat in front.
Sorry, was in a work nightmare all day and didn't get to look back until just now. Thanks for the replies. I think I'll be reprinting @ the airport to avoid this from now on, although it still rubs me wrong (not to mention defeats the purpose of checking in online in the first place ).

The GA told me they'd switched versions of 37's. The 'new' one WAS the
-300 (not sure what the original was supposed to be). In any event, 10A is still exit/no seat in front on a -300, so I couldn't figure out why I got moved to E- and non-MP member got 10A (and subsequently tried jamming his bag under his seat, which I curtly told him would have to be removed from my feet and placed under 8A, to which he responded "all the way up there?"...not the right thing to say to the previous holder of that seat).
cedahm is offline  
 
 
 

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 pm.