Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger) [closed to posting]
Sign in using an external account

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 26, 10, 12:29 pm   #1
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,287
Frozen/Broken FIDS (Flight Information Display System)

I wonder if UA has a process to fix broken FIDS quickly. Does it help if we report problems to the gate agents?

Last Sunday in SFO, I passed by a set of them after 8 PM, yet the time on the FIDS are about 2 PM (frozen). It makes me wonder how in a busy hub, this kind of thing can be left unreported/unfixed for extended period of time.

I was looking at another set down the concourse and the arrivals screen was not refreshing properly.

I have also observed FIDS a few months ago at IAD that are displayed all different directions (side ways, etc.).

How they can be left broken and unfixed in hub airports really makes me wonder. Do they test them thoroughly? Do they monitor them to make sure they work? Do they have a process of fixing them quickly?

Thanks.
username is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 5:11 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by username View Post
I wonder if UA has a process to fix broken FIDS quickly. Does it help if we report problems to the gate agents?
Yes and Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by username View Post
Do they monitor them to make sure they work? Do they have a process of fixing them quickly? ?
No they are not monitored as the reliability is very high. About the only problem I've ever seen is a flight missing maybe every 6-12 months. The flat panels are thin clients and I've seen a system freeze twice in the 2 or so years since they were installed in the SFO lobby. We have a central help desk to report equipment failures. Repair of the old TV monitors often took quite a while because when they went out needed parts weren't readily available.
SFOFastAir is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 9:02 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 8,696
Same thing happened on same day at ORD. It was reported and fixed via the system support desk.
fastair is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 10:10 pm   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, Kansas | MCI
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, G.E./NEXUS, Amex, UA 1K/RCC, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 19,133
Except for an issue where a few mainline flights show as departing from the F2B gate area, I've not see any problems with the FIDS this year. There are certain times when the transitions between screens are very rough, but other than that,
__________________
Thanks for the memories, UA | 4/5/1926-3/2/2012
Check out my Travel Blog | TSA Pre-Check for UA Passengers
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Nov 26, 10, 11:44 pm   #5
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,287
So, from the UA airport employees' comments here, there is a process to fix this and all I need is to report to any employee?

The SFO employee seemed to know what to do. When this happned at IAD, I did not report it - it was so obvious that it was broken.
username is offline  
 

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 9:26 am.