Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus > United Mileage Plus (Pre-Merger) [closed to posting]
Sign in using an external account

Old Mar 3, 04, 4:59 pm   #1

Programs: UA 2P, Starwood Gold
Difference between Systemwide and Sweet Spot Upgrades?

I am new to upgrade certs etc, and was wondering if someone can help me out. I know of the Systemwide, Sweet spot, and the Status Global.
Thanks.

[This message has been edited by atsu8 (edited Mar 03, 2004).]
Old Mar 3, 04, 5:02 pm   #2

Sweetspots expired 29 Feb 2004 so their value might have approached zero. In theory 2003 paper SWU's and 2004 e-SWU's are more or less equivalent to Sweetspots.
Old Mar 3, 04, 5:03 pm   #3
Original Member

Since all (ok most) Sweetspots expired on 2/29/04, I would pretty much say they are worthless now.
Old Mar 3, 04, 5:03 pm   #4

Location: SFO/SIN - United 1K MM / SPG Platinum / Hyatt Diamond
Sweetspot SWU's were worth quite a bit when they came out as they were good on the deeply discounted fares (all the way down to S IIRC), while the 2003 SWU's were good on H+ fares. However when the 2004 SWU's came out the value of Sweet Spots declined if you ask me since the 2004's are good on the W fares. For the most part Sweet Spot SWU's expired on February 29, 2004.

[This message has been edited by kluau88 (edited Mar 03, 2004).]
Old Mar 3, 04, 5:03 pm   #5
TUFBEAR

Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by atsu8:
I am new to upgrade certs etc, and was wondering if someone can help me out. Which is worth more?
Thanks.
</font>
Sweet Spots expired on Sadie Hawkins Day!!
(2-29-2004) Value---0!

Old Mar 3, 04, 5:40 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">In theory 2003 paper SWU's and 2004 e-SWU's are more or less equivalent to Sweetspots.</font>