Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United Airlines Ticketing Anomaly with Air Seoul/Air Canada regional{same IATA code!}

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

United Airlines Ticketing Anomaly with Air Seoul/Air Canada regional{same IATA code!}

Search this Thread

Old Jan 20, 2017, 9:10 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold Premier, AA Life Platinum 3MM, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Platinum, Amtrak Select

I recently tried to take advantage of a really low fare ( < US$400) to buy a return ticket from BOS to CHP using the UA website. I am new to UA (20 plus years flying AA and oneworld) so I got caught off guard when the itinerary hadn't ticketed after 24 hours because of a lack of confirmation from one of the participating Star Alliance partners (Air Canada). I then called UA (fearing, apparently incorrectly, that my 24 hour cancelation window was about to close) and the telephone agent ticketed the itinerary.

I noticed the last segment (YYZ-BOS) had no PQM credit (even though it had been listed as having 500 miles when I initially booked the reservation). The UA agent was unable to explain this to me other than to say (wrongly) that the K class UA code-share ticket on AC metal didn't qualify for PQM accrual. I then looked at the confirmed reservation a little more closely and saw that what had been described as a schedule change on the YYZ-BOS segment was actually listed as a carrier change with Air Seoul metal now providing the last leg of my itinerary.

No one I spoke with at UA after that claimed that they could see Air Seoul in the reservation. Nothing I could find on Expedia or the Air Canada website suggested that Air Seoul actually flies (or will be flying) this route.

So I canceled the reservation and, a day or so later, started from scratch again without putting Air Canada into the mix.