Wiki Posts
Search

Long itineraries over calendar year

Search this Thread

Old Oct 1, 2014, 1:53 am
Original Poster

Long itineraries over calendar year

Hello all,

First time posting to the forum, after consulting many times over the years.

I'm a lowly grad student, currently in the midst of a long 8 month field season in Botswana. Last year I obtained MileagePlus Silver Premier Status, following a number of long field and conference flights.

I expected to have no issue retaining status this year, but as the new year looms I'm realizing this will not be a guarantee. Here's my situation:

I've met my PQS requirement for the year.
I'm at 11,574 PQM and $901 PQD...

However, I have many miles and dollars yet to post to my account. Here's the issue, and what I'm hoping to get clarity on:

On June 9, 2014 I flew Boston-Zurich-Johannesburg (roughly 14,000 miles or so, and $1,400). These were on Swiss and South African Air, fare class Y.

My returning flight on the same itinerary is not until February 10, 2015. This will be another 14,000 miles or so.

Additionally, I'm flying on December 25th, 2014 from Maun Botswana-Johannesburg-Amsterdam (6,000 miles, $1,300).

Again, my return flight is not until January 2, 2015.

As it stands, without the contribution of these miles and dollars I will not re-earn Premier Status for the calendar year. How does United/Mileage plus deal with itineraries that span calendar years? While Premier Silver does not carry much weight, the reduced baggage fees and priority security check-ins are valuable to me.

Any clarity on my situation would be greatly appreciated!

My best,
a
Old Oct 1, 2014, 1:58 am

Programs: UA GS 1.7MM, AA 2.1MM, EK, BA, SQ, CX, Marriot LT, Accor P
Originally Posted by acunning
Hello all,

I'm a lowly grad student, currently in the midst of a long 8 month field season in Botswana. Last year I obtained MileagePlus Silver Premier Status, following a number of long field and conference flights.