Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie question about upgrading SFO->JFK

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20, 2014, 6:07 pm
Original Poster

Question Newbie question about upgrading SFO->JFK

I've lurked around here for a while, but this is my first time posting..

Background:
First time I've tried to book any type of award travel -- I've booked a flight to CDG from SNA, but had to do it in two reservations: SNA->SFO->JFK (on UA) and JFK->FRA->CDG (on LH) and the reverse in July. This was all booked via calling United. The agent for whatever reason wasn't able to book the entire reservation at once and had to split up the UA and LH on two different reservations. The LH segments are booked in Business. The UA segments were supposed to be economy upgraded to BusinessFirst according to the agent.

When I got the confirmation, my confusion begins. According to the united site, my reservation is as follows:

SNA->SFO : United First (R), Upgrade Confirmed
SFO->JFK : United Economy (E), Upgrade Requested
JFK->SFO : United BusinessFirst (R), Upgrade Confirmed
SFO->SNA : United First (R), Upgrade Confirmed

I'm able to search the united.com site for award travel and found that they have standard business award for 50k miles on the same flight available, but I'm not able to select the seat on the seating chart page.

The seat assignment for the SFO->JFK leg is 21F, way back in regular economy and leaving at 10:29 pm. I've never flown on a 757 for this long in regular economy so I don't know how bad it would be to be there that long.

Did I screw up somewhere? What are my chances at getting my upgrade after all?
Old Apr 20, 2014, 6:20 pm

welcome to FT;

to my knowledge this is an award travel? or did you purchase an econ ticket and applied instruments?

as for Upgrade Requested segment SF0 - JFK you might have to wait till the (R) inventory shows up; which means daily checking up on that flight and when the R inventory is avail you call to have manually upgraded if it doesnt happen.