Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 20, 12, 11:43 am   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Outside LAX.
Programs: UA1K MM and more
Posts: 294
Question Security Line for UA 1K at LHR T1

I've not flown out of LHR without being confirmed in business for a long long time (pre-move to T1). With the new GPU game, It's looking like Y for me going home.

With all the changes, I thought I'd ask if being 1K/*G allows access to the priority security line or do I have to go through the regular security line if I'm in Y.

I did search using Google and the forum tools but didn't find what I wanted. Sorry.
__________________
Cheers,

dawg1k
dawg1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 12:05 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: If only all those cards were made from the precious metals and gemstones they claim to be.
Posts: 89
I go through it on a regular basis. Some check in agents say it's okay, some don't. I have never been turned away.

Most of the time it's quicker to go through the regular line. T1 security is usually quiet during the period of most UA flights.
London Control is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 12:12 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ONT, SNA, LAX
Programs: UA 1K, AA Plat, SPG Plat, HGP Plat, Avis First
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by London Control View Post
I go through it on a regular basis. Some check in agents say it's okay, some don't. I have never been turned away.

Most of the time it's quicker to go through the regular line. T1 security is usually quiet during the period of most UA flights.
My understanding from my GS workmate (which may be incorrect) is that UA only "pays" for GS travelling in Y to go thru the priority lane along with F and C.

If you are getting thru as a 1K, I'll have to try it next time
richk_30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 12:29 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London and San Francisco
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hertz PC, BAEC Silver
Posts: 3,371
Technically it was not possible at all until earlier (the start?) of this year - the line was for Premium Economy (on some airlines), Business and First only. Then for a short period, UA paid to allow others through - whether it was 1K or E+, I'm not sure but I was specifically told at check in that this was now possible.

Then, either on or shortly after 3/3, UA stopped paying and I was specifically told at check in that the priority line was no longer available due to cost cutting by UA.

Now, to the non-technically bit. The line is, of course, operated by BAA, not UA, and the old gold boarding card stock fooled quite a few of the bp checkers into thinking that this was a premium class product - so they let people through. This can still happen but IME never when I haven't been issued a gold bp. So, YMMV but I wouldn't count on it. Having said that, even in the normal line it has never taken me more than ten minutes to get through - usually a lot less.
lhrsfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 12:48 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 71
I think officially it's only for C and F passengers. Try as a 1K if you like. I sometimes get through but I have also been redirected to the regular line. Also depends on loading, sometimes regular lines are shorter if they have all lanes open.
phillipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 1:08 pm   #6
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, Kansas (FOE/MCI)
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat, G.E./NEXUS, Amex, UA 1K/RCC, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 19,086
Now that the BPs don't say "United FIRST" or "United BUSINESS" at the top, it seems as though most people won't have a problem getting through the FastTrack lane.

As a 1K in C on LHR-SFO, I went through two weeks ago, and the agent didn't mention anything about whether or not I was in C.

I don't see a downside in trying to use the lane. You likely won't have any problems.
__________________
Thanks for the memories, UA | 4/5/1926-3/2/2012
Check out my Travel Blog | TSA Pre-Check for UA Passengers
FriendlySkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 12, 1:10 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SEA/NYC. DL DM charter member, UA 1K, NW Plat ('03-'09), Marriott Plat. Always somewhere, never anywhere...
Posts: 6,210
There's really no point in trying it. I just flew from LHR on Friday in T1 on UA (LHR-SFO) and there was *no* wait in the general security line.

Security is run so efficiently at LHR these days the US TSA really needs to get a freakin clue and mimic what they're doing.

-RM
__________________
2014: UA 80% (31/39); DL 100% (1/1)
2013: UA 85% (56/66); DL 80% (8/10); AS 25% (1/4)
RobOnLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 12, 5:26 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Outside LAX.
Programs: UA1K MM and more
Posts: 294
Thanks everyone for the feedback.

Having been in LHR security lines before for over an hour, I think I'm just paranoid.

As I think about T1 in the morning for the LHR to LAX flight, I do recall it never being very busy.
__________________
Cheers,

dawg1k
dawg1k is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:35 pm.