Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 29, 12, 11:35 am   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PHL
Programs: UA 1K MM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Plat
Posts: 3,731
Longest route with a RPU

In the spirit of this thread:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...-1-flight.html

I'm wondering what the longest possible itinerary that could be upgraded with a single RPU. And to paraphrase bhmlurker:

Upgradable with one RPU by everyday UA customers, no super circular routes, no zig zags, just a normal routing that UA call center would sell you. No weird routing that'd cause select UA employees to curse you out Oh yeah, the whole route must have F or C of some sort.

Is LIM-EWR RPU eligible? Otherwise what S. America origin gets you the longest RPU eligible flight to EWR (BOG? Quito only goes to IAH).

Then on to Hawaii. Does the single RPU then continue to be eligible on the island hopper flights?
PHLGovFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 11:40 am   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1KMM, AA Plat, SPG Plat75, Hertz 5*
Posts: 13,694
You could probably add on extra segments within CONUS - but how about something like HNL-SFO-IAD-STT or somewhere else in the Caribbean

Or - HNL-SFO-SEA-ANC-IAH-ORD-IAD-EWR-AUA
UA-NYC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 11:48 am   #3
Ambassador: Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PIT
Programs: AS MVP Gold, UA 1K, BA Silver, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz #1 Gold
Posts: 5,681
BOG-EWR-HNL-MAJ-KWA-KSA-PNI-TKK-GUM-HKG-SIN...

GCMapper

However, I am not too sure if it is permissible under the fare rules... They might force you to buy BOG-IAH-NRT-SIN or BOG-EWR-HKG-SIN.
__________________
My Flightmemory

Last edited by golfingboy; Mar 29, 12 at 11:50 am.. Reason: Wrong Origin oops
golfingboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:00 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, WN A-List, Marriott Silver, Starwood Corporate (aka nobody)
Posts: 2,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfingboy View Post
BOG-EWR-HNL-MAJ-KWA-KSA-PNI-TKK-GUM-HKG-SIN...

GCMapper

However, I am not too sure if it is permissible under the fare rules... They might force you to buy BOG-IAH-NRT-SIN or BOG-EWR-HKG-SIN.
The idea of using one RPU to get to SIN is pretty amazing, if permissable.
tods27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:04 pm   #5
Ambassador: Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PIT
Programs: AS MVP Gold, UA 1K, BA Silver, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz #1 Gold
Posts: 5,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by tods27 View Post
The idea of using one RPU to get to SIN is pretty amazing, if permissable.
It is

We have CO Mike to thank for making this possible

The challenge will be trying to book the island Hopper between HNL and GUM..

Routing rules:

/VIA THE PACIFIC/
DOM ROUTE VALIDATION APPLIES WITHIN ORIG/DEST COUNTRIES
1. BOG-CM/UA-PTY-CO/UA-CHI/CLE/DEN/EWR/HOU/WAS-CO/UA-CHI/EWR/
LAX/NYC/SEA/SFO/SNA/WAS-CO/UA-HNL-CO/UA-GUM-CO/UA-HKG-UA-
SIN
__________________
My Flightmemory
golfingboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:23 pm   #6
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 60,291
RPUs are valid on CM, too, so you should be able to start even further south and route via PTY on the trip.
__________________
Travel Tales | Cash Back on Booking
Twitter | Tools |
sbm12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:43 pm   #7
Ambassador: Alaska Airlines
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PIT
Programs: AS MVP Gold, UA 1K, BA Silver, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz #1 Gold
Posts: 5,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
RPUs are valid on CM, too, so you should be able to start even further south and route via PTY on the trip.
Was not sure about that, so I stuck with UA

Nice to know, but they don't clear in advance?? Or you can upgrade in advance or waitlist on Copa flights? That means the furthest starting point will be EZE

EZE-PTY-EWR-HNL-GUM-HKG-SIN... Epic!

ETA: EZE is not possible due to routing rules...

BUE-CO/UA-CHI/CLE/DEN/EWR/HOU/WAS-CO/UA-CHI/EWR/LAX/NYC/
SEA/SFO/SNA/WAS-CO/UA-HNL-CO/UA-GUM-CO/UA-HKG-UA-SIN
__________________
My Flightmemory
golfingboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:57 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BOS and any place close to a lav
Programs: UA 1K (1.3MM)
Posts: 4,996
Good answers here:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...izing-rpu.html
__________________
Premier Executive 1K just sounds better than Premier 1K
warreng24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 12:59 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA 4K (And Once Again GS) 2MM Lifetime
Posts: 1,477
Here is one I actually did under the old UA system with a GPU (FKA SWU).....(I realize this is a RPU question)

LHR-ORD-SFO-SYD-MEL-LAX-IAD-FRA


27,943

GCM
LAXOGG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 2:04 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MDE, BWI
Programs: UA-1K AA-Kettle
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
RPUs are valid on CM, too, so you should be able to start even further south and route via PTY on the trip.
When you use an RPU and mix COPA and UA, the UA rules then apply.

For example, you could use an RPU on an all-COPA routing for EZE-PTY-ORD. You could not use an RPU for EZE-PTY-IAH-ORD because the legs on UA would force you to use a GPU.

Last edited by coolcoil; Mar 29, 12 at 2:27 pm.. Reason: Provided better example
coolcoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 12, 2:32 pm   #11
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 60,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolcoil View Post
When you use an RPU and mix COPA and UA, the UA rules then apply.

For example, you could use an RPU on an all-COPA routing for EZE-PTY-ORD. You could not use an RPU for EZE-PTY-IAH-ORD because the legs on UA would force you to use a GPU.
I do not believe this is accurate. The eligibility of the upgrade is based on the segment to which it is being applied, and for flights ex-PTY the RPUs are valid.
__________________
Travel Tales | Cash Back on Booking
Twitter | Tools |
sbm12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 12, 1:20 am   #12
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: EWR
Programs: UA 1K, Marriot Plat, IHG Plat, Taj Gold
Posts: 443
Island Hopper!

Quote:
Originally Posted by golfingboy View Post
BOG-EWR-HNL-MAJ-KWA-KSA-PNI-TKK-GUM-HKG-SIN...

GCMapper

However, I am not too sure if it is permissible under the fare rules... They might force you to buy BOG-IAH-NRT-SIN or BOG-EWR-HKG-SIN.
As someone who has taken the island hopper (upgraded to F upon booking) and spent some time in Kwajalein and Ebeye, I'd have to say this flight is definitely one to take just as an experience. A daylong flight with 6 stops full of local islanders, many whom have never flown before, getting on and off the plane at each stop. The runways on these islands are a little two short for the 737 and the plane definitely goes hard on the brakes and reverse thrust on each touchdown. There is a mechanic onboard who the flight in coach who gets off and checks the plane at each stop as well...
brp1264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 12, 6:16 am   #13
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 1K, Hertz President's Circle, Hilton Platinum,
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfingboy View Post
Nice to know, but they don't clear in advance?? Or you can upgrade in advance or waitlist on Copa flights? That means the furthest starting point will be EZE
They don't clear as far in advance so Uncle $misek can offer upgrades for cash.
bsmnsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 12, 7:10 am   #14
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MDE, BWI
Programs: UA-1K AA-Kettle
Posts: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
I do not believe this is accurate. The eligibility of the upgrade is based on the segment to which it is being applied, and for flights ex-PTY the RPUs are valid.
You are correct, but I was talking about going all the way from EZE to ORD on one RPU.

You could use an RPU on UA for PTY-IAH-ORD. However, if you tried to use it for the full routing EZE-PTY-IAH-ORD you will get shot down. The UA reservation system will see that as a deep South America routing and require a GPU. This would be true even if you book through COPA with codeshares.
coolcoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 12, 7:29 am   #15
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 60,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolcoil View Post
You are correct, but I was talking about going all the way from EZE to ORD on one RPU.

You could use an RPU on UA for PTY-IAH-ORD. However, if you tried to use it for the full routing EZE-PTY-IAH-ORD you will get shot down. The UA reservation system will see that as a deep South America routing and require a GPU. This would be true even if you book through COPA with codeshares.
I still maintain that this is incorrect. RPUs are valid for EZE-PTY and PTY-anywhere. The online system might choke on it but an agent should be able to push it through without issue.
__________________
Travel Tales | Cash Back on Booking
Twitter | Tools |
sbm12 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:45 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.