Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Sign in using an external account

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 24, 12, 12:57 pm   #46
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, HH Gold, MR Gold, *W Gold, IHG Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 17,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luv2FlyOutofDIA View Post
Do they still work like system-wides on Lufthansa? What are the fare codes that are NOT eligible for upgrades? Please help - flying on the 2nd and have already orders paper certificates! Thanks.
no change to the rules AFAIK. V-class or higher to C and then there is the Z-class issue to F where you technically can't use a SWU but sometimes it works ... until LH stops it for their own Senators later this year
cfischer is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:38 am   #47
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: United 1K
Posts: 183
So Q fares are upgradeable with paper GPUs? And what's the best way to keep abreast of business class upgrade availability on LH?

Last edited by silent129; Mar 28, 12 at 12:12 pm.
silent129 is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:52 am   #48
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NYC, CLE
Programs: UA 1K, Starwood Platinum, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 108
I didn't know that United Global Premier Upgrades could be printed out for use on LH-operated flights...sorry I'm just new to United (loyal CO guy for years) - where can I find more information about this? As far as I can tell from the United site is that United GPU's must be used on UA-operated flights.
indiansfan07 is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 10:55 am   #49
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: DL GM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 3,810
Thanks for posting the rules. Does the "valid carrier" rukle apply to United as well? i.e. if it's a UA flight number and UA stock it's valid day of flight only?
__________________
Worldperks, 1981-2009. R.I.P.
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Mar 28, 12, 12:03 pm   #50
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Programs: UA GS/Avis President's/Hyatt Platinum/Marriott Gold/LH FT
Posts: 1,602
Sort of a different question - can you use LH e-cert's (their version of the SWU) on UA flights? If so, is the process the same?
__________________
Frequent Flyer Giving
JC1120 is offline  
Old Mar 29, 12, 2:33 pm   #51
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: BOM-SIN-EWR
Programs: AA EXP, LH SEN, UA*G (1K again), 9wPlat, Sixt Plat, *was* SQ QPP01 & SK EBS/EBG
Posts: 7,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
That is what I was also told when I called in, speaking to the HNL call center.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfischer View Post
no change to the rules AFAIK. V-class or higher to C and then there is the Z-class issue to F where you technically can't use a SWU but sometimes it works ... until LH stops it for their own Senators later this year
Wait - where did you see this??!

Will they still allow HONs to upgrade then?

They'll have a *lot* of empty F cabins flying around then!

Update: Found it - was flying another carrier (non-LH) for the past 3-4 days! : http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/miles...iles-more.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by indiansfan07 View Post
I didn't know that United Global Premier Upgrades could be printed out for use on LH-operated flights...sorry I'm just new to United (loyal CO guy for years) - where can I find more information about this? As far as I can tell from the United site is that United GPU's must be used on UA-operated flights.
On the same call with the HNL (PMUA) call center, I was told that GPUs printed for use on LH were not available any longer, only to be used on UA metal (and Copa?) flights - this was only one call/datapoint, but can anyone confirm this??

Last edited by SuperFlyBoy; Mar 29, 12 at 2:43 pm.
SuperFlyBoy is offline  
Old Mar 30, 12, 3:12 am   #52
Senior Moderator; Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 26,604
The COdbaUA website is awfully silent about the GPU printed for use on LH topic. Did any of the previous posters get their printed certs? I'm dying to update the previous paper SWU thread...
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 3:30 pm   #53
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Programs: Premier 1k, ex CO Plat, HHonors Gold, Marriot Rewards Gold
Posts: 480
GPU on LH operated flight

Apologize if this has been asked before - I tried posting on of the related forums however it was closed for new messages.
I'm planing a trip IAH - VIE - IAH this upcoming Oct.
Since I've never flown C on the LH A380-800, i thought this may be worth a shot.
I still have 4 GPU (Ex SWU) in my aco.....
Will I be able to upgrade a LH W fare using this GPU or now, after the merger, it is no longer possible?

Any advice will help,
Thanks,
R
rebech34 is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 3:54 pm   #54
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: EWR, PHL, ABE
Programs: UA Premier 1K, Aegean *A Gold
Posts: 466
This is still possible, though you will get a certificate that is redeemable only on the day of departure (space available). When you call MP Service Center I think only the supervisors can do it right now.
revigik is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 4:31 pm   #55
Senior Moderator; Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 26,604
LH W fares are excluded, you need to have a V or upwards.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 4:41 pm   #56
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boulder
Programs: UA Silver, Hyatt Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 587
On LH, can a GPU be used on multiple legs? For instance, could I upgrade ATL-FRA-BOM with a single UA GPU, assuming I had a high-enough fare class?
txflyer77 is online now  
Old Apr 8, 12, 4:52 pm   #57
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 264
I have another question about this LH paper upgrade certificate issue. If I get a certificate using one of my GPUs, but then fail to make the upgrade on the flight itself, will the GPU be restored to my account, or have I lost the GPU for ever?

Thanks for anyone who can help with this, I have tried to find the information on the site but as others have noted, it's not very clear!
alexperi is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 5:38 pm   #58
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexperi View Post
If I get a certificate using one of my GPUs, but then fail to make the upgrade on the flight itself, will the GPU be restored to my account, or have I lost the GPU for ever?
From Terms and Conditions on SWU (got it before 3/3).Unused certificate has to be mailed to the Mileage Plus Service Center for redepositing and will have the expiration date of the original upgrade.

And it's one segment upgrade.
pterosaur is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 6:40 pm   #59
Used to be MJ-bos
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Diego, California USA
Programs: AA ExecPlat, COdbaUA 1P & 2MM, HH Diamond, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold, IHG Gold, Avis 1st
Posts: 225
Yes they can be printed... yes they work (on H class and above)

I just received the 2 I requested 9 days after the call requesting them. I had to get to a Service Director, the pmCO guy on the phone wasn't familiar with the process yet, but he did understand what I wanted and that it could be done.

He kept asking me for the LH itinerary # or flights ... I kept assuring him it wasn't necessary, these are for same-day standby use and I wasn't going to book my flights until I knew i had the certs and what fare buckets I could use.

I kept coming up with S L and K fares ... but after a lot of searching was able to finally find H all around on flights that looked pretty good for availability in C.

My process - I open up my company's booking engine to find out what flights it wants me to take (nice way of saying cheapest) ... and on my other screen I open LH website and book a reservation in C class - you have to go past dates & flights and actually go through to the step of entering your name, FF#, date of birth to get to seat selection - at that point you can see the seat map.

Hope that helps someone out there trying to make their SWUs work...
MoJ0 is offline  
Old Apr 8, 12, 8:40 pm   #60
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bethesda, MD
Programs: UA 1K, DL, HH Diamond, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Priority Club Platinum, Avis Select
Posts: 784
Good news, in the last week I used aperture upgrade cents on LH for FRA - JNB and back. The challenge was getting the certain delivered from UA, but after a few calls the came I FedEx. Thanks to LH for the upgrade, that 10+ hour flight s tough in economy.
dlwalt is offline  
 
 
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 am.