Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Sign in using an external account

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 18, 13, 6:03 pm   #3496
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Programs: *G, TK Elite, Marriott Gold, Kimpton IC, WN CP
Posts: 1,077
I was under the impression that when redeeming miles, one can add a stopover for free (at least if not terribly out of the way). It didn't work for IND-SFO-SEA-IND. I was expecting to get it at 25k miles but it came up at 35k. If the free stopover worked, it should have not picked up the SFO-SEA segment of 10k, no? I did select saver award for all 3 segments.

Any idea why no free stopover here?
italdesign is offline  
Old Mar 18, 13, 6:09 pm   #3497
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Programs: UA 1K, BA Blue, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by italdesign View Post
I was under the impression that when redeeming miles, one can add a stopover for free (at least if not terribly out of the way). It didn't work for IND-SFO-SEA-IND. I was expecting to get it at 25k miles but it came up at 35k. If the free stopover worked, it should have not picked up the SFO-SEA segment of 10k, no? I did select saver award for all 3 segments.

Any idea why no free stopover here?
The MP Award Rules are:
Quote:
A stopover is permitted on roundtrip award travel only. One stopover is permitted, unless otherwise noted. Additional mileage may be required for Saver Awards within the mainland U.S., Alaska and Canada.
alex_b is offline  
Old Mar 18, 13, 6:52 pm   #3498
Used to be 'joony'
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NEC
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 198
For an itinerary booked on US Airways but has all flights on UA metal, will SDC be allowed? On the website it says "The itinerary must be operated by United**."
pizzabox is offline  
Old Mar 18, 13, 6:58 pm   #3499
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, National Exec
Posts: 10,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by joony View Post
For an itinerary booked on US Airways but has all flights on UA metal, will SDC be allowed? On the website it says "The itinerary must be operated by United**."
Yes.
__________________
2014 CPUs: 18/31 Missed: EWR-SEA, PHL-IAH, SEA-EWR, PDX-SFO, SFO-PHL (x2), PHL-SFO (x2), SAN-EWR, IAD-SMF, PSP-IAH, EWR-MSY, MSY-EWR
aacharya is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 12:54 pm   #3500
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Delta, SPG
Posts: 45
HI there, sorry if this is a repeat but I couldn't find the question.

Looking to book LAX - SFO - HKG on UA, and wondering if a general mileage plus member (no status) would be eligible for an upgrdae for the SFO - HKG segment if they purchased a Coach B fare. And if so, about how many miles or dollars could they expect to spend?
shawnymcd is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 1:04 pm   #3501
Moderator, United Airlines, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1.5MM, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver
Posts: 26,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnymcd View Post
HI there, sorry if this is a repeat but I couldn't find the question.

Looking to book LAX - SFO - HKG on UA, and wondering if a general mileage plus member (no status) would be eligible for an upgrdae for the SFO - HKG segment if they purchased a Coach B fare. And if so, about how many miles or dollars could they expect to spend?
Long hual international are not eligible for the YBM instant upgrades (only flights that also offer complimentary premier upgrades are eligible for YBM upgrades.) See Upgrades overview.
However mileage + copay (none on B fares) is an option -- would take 35K miles and you would be at the bottom of the priority waitlist.
Or you might be offered a cash only upgrade opportunity. If offered (check online and at check-in) likely to be roughly $800 to $1K+ http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...-upgrades.html
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 1:23 pm   #3502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Delta, SPG
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
Long hual international are not eligible for the YBM instant upgrades (only flights that also offer complimentary premier upgrades are eligible for YBM upgrades.) See Upgrades overview.
However mileage + copay (none on B fares) is an option -- would take 35K miles and you would be at the bottom of the priority waitlist.
Or you might be offered a cash only upgrade opportunity. If offered (check online and at check-in) likely to be roughly $800 to $1K+ http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...-upgrades.html
Super helpful! Thank you!!
shawnymcd is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 2:22 pm   #3503
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: United
Posts: 71
How far out does United know which aircraft they will use for a particular flight? I have a ps flight coming up. Right now, it's showing the new ps config. Odds are, it will change back to the old. United has a tendency to change my seat assignment (currently 1A/1F) when they change aircraft, so I want to watch my reservation like a hawk when the time approaches.
handlebear is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 4:11 pm   #3504
Moderator, United Airlines, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1.5MM, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver
Posts: 26,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by handlebear View Post
How far out does United know which aircraft they will use for a particular flight? I have a ps flight coming up. Right now, it's showing the new ps config. Odds are, it will change back to the old. United has a tendency to change my seat assignment (currently 1A/1F) when they change aircraft, so I want to watch my reservation like a hawk when the time approaches.
3-4 days outs (although may change earlier -- AND may change anything prior to actual departure) things start to settle out.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Mar 19, 13, 7:36 pm   #3505
Moderator: Budget Travel forum
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: DAL / DFW
Programs: UA 1K .95 MM
Posts: 6,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
3-4 days outs (although may change earlier -- AND may change anything prior to actual departure) things start to settle out.
And sometimes even AFTER published departure, though BEFORE actual departure:

SFO-DFW, last flight of the day, arriving a/c from YVR went mechanical, and a couple of hours after published departure a 320 was substituted for 319. Still arrived in Dallas about 2 a.m. Monday

And of course the KIX-SFO changed THREE times 2-4 days before departure from old config 777 to new and back to old (on both UA.com and unitedcargo.com).

And of course the only reason I was on said flight was because UA cancelled my PVG-SFO nonstop about FIVE days before the flight

EmailKid
__________________
Training Specialist/Field Service Engineer looking for work
Found something for now, but still want a job in my field
EmailKid is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 4:01 am   #3506
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Programs: All of 'em
Posts: 377
Flying biz class from TLV to EWR next week, and need to know which seats have the larger foot cubbies, as I have large feet and would like to nap a bit.

It's the 777-200.

Advice?
Nekamah7 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 4:23 am   #3507
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 9,641
Bulkhead, the outer seats
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 4:27 am   #3508
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Programs: All of 'em
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshwex90 View Post
Bulkhead, the outer seats
Am I good in 1K? Is it bulkhead?
Nekamah7 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 4:51 am   #3509
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: HaMerkaz/Exit 145
Programs: UA, LY, BA, AA
Posts: 9,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nekamah7 View Post
Am I good in 1K? Is it bulkhead?
Pretty sure, though I prefer 8B, 8D, and 8K
joshwex90 is offline  
Old Mar 20, 13, 1:52 pm   #3510
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ KF (ex-UA)
Posts: 572
Trying to book an award itinerary on the UA website now. Site shows a particular routing (ORD-ICN-SIN) on OZ/SQ as available, but when clicked on says "We are unable to find an award seat that fits your requirements." Should I call in or is this phantom availability?

Edit: I get the same message regardless which routing I click on. Likely there is some IT issue here.

edit 2: Repeated the search and it went through. Just some website gremlins I guess.

Last edited by gailwynand; Mar 20, 13 at 1:59 pm.
gailwynand is offline  
 
 
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:03 pm.