Go Back   > > >

Old Jan 24, 07, 3:33 pm   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: May 2004
Programs: UA 1K 2MM, BA Gold, SQ QPP
Posts: 1,372
Carry on at LHR

Do they allow 1 bag + laptop or just the bag?
Does it matter if you are in C?
c1mth0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:37 pm   #2
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK, France and USA
Programs: *A, BAEC -Gold
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1mth0g View Post
Do they allow 1 bag + laptop or just the bag?
Does it matter if you are in C?
Just a bag. And they are very strict. Not sure about C though.
Joe de London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:43 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, Bmi Blue, HH Silver,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 10,852
Hi,

Irrespective of class( even F) , it is one bag at LHR ( you could put your laptop bag inside your other bag to get through security then take it out)

Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:45 pm   #4
  
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SEA/YVR/BLI
Programs: UA "Lifetime" Gold and Silver Wings, AS MVPG75K, HH Diamond, IC Plat Amb, Marriott Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 8,902
And here I thought the old movie series had been revived with a new location:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carry_On_films
Fredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:49 pm   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Oct 2004
Programs: Nah.
Posts: 13,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe de London View Post
Just a bag. And they are very strict. Not sure about C though.
I'm not sure how strict they are. I went through LHR security this weekend with another FTer and we both took two bags through, no problem. One rollaboard and one laptop bag each.

This was T3, fast track FWIW.

And yes, I know the rule is one bag only. I was going to put my laptop bag into my rollaboard if I had to.
qasr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:50 pm   #6
  
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MSY
Programs: formerly UA GS, now lowly gold :(
Posts: 1,186
When I went through LHR in September, they did not enforce the one bag at the fast track in T3.
osxanalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:53 pm   #7
  
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Programs: UA Lifetime 1K (3.443MM BIS miles) AA EXP (3.417MM)
Posts: 1,054
I've departed LHR twice this month (T3 fast track)...
The guards of the entrance seem more focused on the plastic bag nonsense than the # of bags....I saw a handful of people with 2 bags that made it through but didn't attempt it myself.
CVO 1K 2 Million is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 3:56 pm   #8
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK, France and USA
Programs: *A, BAEC -Gold
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1mth0g View Post
Do they allow 1 bag + laptop or just the bag?
Does it matter if you are in C?
See this tread http://flyertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=651124
Joe de London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 4:14 pm   #9
  
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K and MM, AA EXP
Posts: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1mth0g View Post
Do they allow 1 bag + laptop or just the bag?
Does it matter if you are in C?
When I flew through LHR in early December, they were VERY strict about one bag, and were sending folks who had more than one carry-on back to check them.

When I flew through LRH again last week, it seemed MUCH less strict and I didn't even notice anyone turned away for having more than one bag.

Tim

Last edited by TimInSF; Jan 24, 07 at 4:19 pm
TimInSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 5:39 pm   #10
  
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, London, Sydney
Programs: United GS/2MM, DL*P, VS*G, AA*PLT, Avis CHM, Hertz Platinum, Sixt*D, HH*D, HGP*P, Starwood*G
Posts: 9,571
I've been out of LHR about 6 times in the past two weeks. UA check-in will tell you to check in the second bag, but Fast Track has been *VERY* lax about it.
stevenshev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 07, 6:24 pm   #11
Moderator: Chicago, Las Vegas & Dining Buzz
  
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 16,533
Since this is not just UA-related, I am moving this to the London forum. Thanks for your understanding.

iluv2fly
Moderator, UA
iluv2fly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 07, 12:29 pm   #12
  
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: AA 2MMEXP, BA Gold, UA 1MMPremierGold, Hyatt Diamond, FPC Plat, HHonors/SPG/Accor Gold, IC Plat Amb
Posts: 3,977
I was stopped entering the Fast Track section of the Flight Connections Center and made to put my handbag into my carryon last weekend.
rfrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 4:28 am.

Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top