Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe including Turkey > U.K. and Ireland
Sign in using an external account

Old May 10, 05, 2:04 pm   #1

Question How To Fit In?? How To Dress? Living in London This Summer

I have a rather silly question for you all: I am a female American university student and will be living in London this summer (July-August). My hope is that I will not look too "touristy" or "out of place," so I am asking for some pointers.
I am aware that London is a very fashionable city, but there are a few questions I have. (For the men out there, mind asking the lady in your life these questions for me??)
1) As a 21 year old university student, I will be walking extensively not only in London (to the university and such), but also in other European cities that I visit on the weekends. Although I fancy high heeled shoes to go with my skirts/dresses, are they practical? What would a Londoner recommend as a good pair of shoes for lengthy walks? I'd prefer to avoid trainers, as they aren't very appropriate for most of what I usually wear. I'm looking for comfort and fashion...Two things that do not often go hand-in-hand...Hehe
2) On a "normal" day what would a Londoner wear (female)?
3) Should I bring any special/more formal outfits for any other events that are common in July/August?
Other than that, are there any other pointers one would like to offer on this topic?
Thank you so much!!
Ziena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 05, 3:14 pm   #2

Programs: aa e-plat 3 mm; ca plat; spg plat; hilton dia
if you know to call athletic shoes trainers

you know enough to dress well in London
carlyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 05, 3:18 pm   #3
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Plantsville, CT USA; via West Hartford, CT; Stamford, CT; South Bend, IN; London, U.K. and Westchester County, NY
Programs: AA EXP 2 MM; Starwood PLT
Enjoy your experience!