Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How long can I stay in England?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2010, 1:57 pm
Original Poster

Smile How long can I stay in England?

I visited my friend in the UK over Christmas 2009 for a month.
I would like to go back and stay as long as possible without getting a VISA.
I have looked online and it seems I can stay up to 6 months within a 12 month period. Does that mean I could stay for 5 months if I go this fall? And then would I be able to come again right away for another 6 month stint into the next 12 month cycle? Or could I come back every couple months for a 2 month visit at a time? I'm a bit confused about how that works.
If anyone knows, that would really help.

I am a self-employed illustrator. I'm not looking to find a job over there.

Thanks!
Old Aug 30, 2010, 2:20 pm

There isn't any "6 months in 12 months" rule. Each time you enter the UK (Note NOT England) it will be decided how long you will be allowed in the UK. This can be from zero to 6 months.

You will however have to prove that you can fund yourself for the full period without working and that you are going to return home at the enter of your entry period.

Multiple entries in a short period tend not to be looked upon favourably and the more you do it the more likely you are to be refused entry
Old Aug 30, 2010, 2:28 pm

Programs: SQ & QF
What country is your passport from?

If you have a passport that is from an EU country i would enter on that. That way if you can pass the border as many times as you wish and for how ever long you like. You will have no restrictions.

This are the EU member states: http://europa.eu/abc/european_countr...s/index_en.htm

If you dont you will have to go the long way round. Here is the website to go: http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/
Old Aug 30, 2010, 5:05 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Exp|VA Platinum