Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Turkish Airlines | Miles&Smiles
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 13, 12, 10:18 am   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Transferring/Transit in Istanbul

I'm flying from IAD to TLV on Turkish Airlines and the itinerary is only giving me 55 minutes to make the connection in Istanbul. Has anyone experienced a similar connection time in IST? Also, would I need to go through customs in IST (at which point I'll never make it)? I leave Friday and am just getting my act together. Any insights would be greatly appreciated.
bubble1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 12, 1:42 pm   #2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,066
You don't need to go through customs in IST BUT you will go through security. I don't know if it was just because I was taking a flight to LAX from IST but I have to say that their security is INSANE. It took at least an hour just lining up and going through security check. They check your bags twice via X-Ray then do random bag checks AND then they check your passport a ton of times before you finally get to the waiting area.

It's absolute chaos.
blackmamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 12, 2:47 am   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Programs: SK*S, TK*G, HH G
Posts: 1,882
The OP is not flying to the US but arriving at IST from the US; a totally different situation in terms of security (however, it may be that additional security is applied for TLV flights - I don't know).

Anyway, 55 min is more than enough for this transfer, which will be very easy. Just follow the transfer signs, show your onward BP (or if you didn't get it at IAD, obtain a BP from the TK transfer desk on arrivals level) and take the escalators one level up; you will then be in the transit/departure hall. It is very very easy; no need to to worrry.

You will not pass customs or immigration for this transfer.

Security checks take place at the departure gates. I have passed IST many times and I have never experienced security checks to be "chaos" or time consuming. No need to worry about this.
SK AAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 12, 10:16 am   #4
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: AA, BA, UA
Posts: 723
I have transfered at IST and it was not the most painfree transfer nor was it the worst. You will not have to go through customs or immigration, just follow the sights for conncetions, it is doable in 55 mins but you don't have much time. Make sure you get your boarding pass for TLV when you check in at IAD as there can be long lines at the transfer desk at IST.
startpacking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 12, 1:30 am   #5
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NRT / HND
Posts: 2,426
I seem to remember that there were 3 or so countries which the special security checks apply for at IST. USA, Israel, and I believe one other. This meant an additional passport check before going to the transfer line, it didn't take long, maybe added 10 minutes to the process.
dvs7310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 12, 3:48 am   #6
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ADD
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvs7310 View Post
I seem to remember that there were 3 or so countries which the special security checks apply for at IST. USA, Israel, and I believe one other. This meant an additional passport check before going to the transfer line, it didn't take long, maybe added 10 minutes to the process.
And CAN.
moeser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 12, 3:53 am   #7
tcm
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 814
Also the U.K. All done by the friendliest staff of Gözen Aviation, a IST classic
tcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 12, 6:51 am   #8
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ADD
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcm View Post
Also the U.K. All done by the friendliest staff of Gözen Aviation, a IST classic
Absolutely ! Sometimes I got invited to coffee & cake
moeser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 12, 8:35 am   #9
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: AA 2MMEXP, BA Gold, UA 1MMPremierGold, Hyatt Diamond, IC RA, SPG Gold, FPC Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 3,941
The security line for connecting flights when I transferred there last week was extremely long, and while I was spared its pain (I was traveling with someone in a wheelchair), I would doubt that it could be cleared in less than 40 minutes.
rfrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 12, 9:14 am   #10
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: YYZ/YUL/YOW
Programs: A3*G TK*G VS(S) SPG(G)
Posts: 1,814
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfrost View Post
The security line for connecting flights when I transferred there last week was extremely long, and while I was spared its pain (I was traveling with someone in a wheelchair), I would doubt that it could be cleared in less than 40 minutes.
Just to be clear - they have a new security set up for transit pax?

I ll be flying YYZ-IST-DEL with 2.5+ hr each way, So I m not too worried, but I d like to know the setup each way. Would I have to clear it in both directions?
yulred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 12, 10:30 am   #11
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: TK Gold, M&M FTL, QR Gold, HH Diamond, PCR Platinum
Posts: 1,583
As of last week you clear security before entering the departure terminal, not at the gate. Related thread - IST Back To Open Gate
__________________
Flight Memory
CAlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 12, 8:12 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Outback
Programs: QF Gold, ANZ Silver
Posts: 28
Red face Transit at IST

Hi Everybody
I'm new to FT. Will be travelling JNB-CAI with just over an hour stopover in IST, and then return a couple weeks later. In your experiences, will my bags move from one aircraft to the other without going missing?
I look forward to some good conversations in future!
Hoss007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 12, 8:33 pm   #13
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 866
Welcome to FT!

The chances of your bags making the connection are fair, but it would not harm to pack essentials in your carry on bag, so that you are not devastated if your check in luggage does not make it.
FedUp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 12, 8:34 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: YYZ
Programs: A3& TK Gold/IC RA
Posts: 9,732
Do transit pax need a visa. I will be flying from MUC to IST-DEL and I hold a CAD pp?
__________________
I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things . . .
djjaguar64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 12, 1:28 am   #15
Moderator, Aer Lingus Gold Circle Club, Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles & Le Club Accorhotels
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dublin
Programs: TK*G, A3*G, EI Gold Circle, BA Silver, Le Club Accorhotels Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 4,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoss007 View Post
Hi Everybody
I'm new to FT. Will be travelling JNB-CAI with just over an hour stopover in IST, and then return a couple weeks later. In your experiences, will my bags move from one aircraft to the other without going missing?
I look forward to some good conversations in future!
Welcome to FlyerTalk and the TK forum Hoss007

The bags should make it but then again as with any flight you never know until you are at your final destination.
starflyergold is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 6:00 am.