Go Back   > > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 1, 11, 7:06 pm   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Programs: UA MP, DL SkyMiles
Posts: 272
Which lounge does TK use at IAD?

I will be traveling in J class in March and this is my first time in J - so needless to say I am excited. So curious which lounge does TK use at IAD? The flight to IST leaves 23.55 - so not sure if any lounges are even open till that late. Any insights? Traveling IAD-IST-BOM. So also curious to know which lounge TK uses at BOM as well?

thanks in advance.
compuser1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 11, 10:31 pm   #2
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hilton-Dia, Marriott-G
Posts: 1,364
Search

Virgin Atlantic
tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 12, 9:15 am   #3
  
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Lounge in IAD

I've read that THY uses the Virgin Lounge I idea, however on the Virgin website I saw it closes at 1830. Do they reopen it later for the Turkish flight at 2330? I'm a United Star Gold traveling in November.
atcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 12, 7:54 pm   #4
  
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Currently KGL (with occasional home/work trips to WAS/NRT)
Programs: MP MM 1K, Sky Miles
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by atcguy:19525861
I've read that THY uses the Virgin Lounge I idea, however on the Virgin website I saw it closes at 1830. Do they reopen it later for the Turkish flight at 2330? I'm a United Star Gold traveling in November.
I am not sure if they reopen but certainly QR and TK use the lounge in the same time frame. I have used the lounge last time I flew in June and hope to use it again next Friday.
Atuchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 12, 1:38 pm   #5
  
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ACC
Programs: milesandsmiles elite+
Posts: 70
Congrats on your debut in international J! You will have a completely different flying experiences...have fun and don't be afraid to try everything...champagne at boarding, liquors, hor dourves etc. Life is short: Live it!
accrapolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 13, 7:45 pm   #6
  
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.7MM, Hertz Platinum, Marriott Gold/SPG Lifetime Gold
Posts: 6,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atuchan View Post
I am not sure if they reopen but certainly QR and TK use the lounge in the same time frame. I have used the lounge last time I flew in June and hope to use it again next Friday.
The VS lounge is indeed open to accommodate the departure of TK0008 at 2330.
I'm sitting in it at the moment ... the lounge cleared out after the Qatar flight to DOH was called. It was jammers before that.
UAPremExecflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 13, 8:05 am   #7
  
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS
Programs: UA 1K, WN A-List, SPG P100, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 772
When I flew IAD-IST, I started in the LH Senator's lounge and then moved over to the Virgin Atlantic Clubhouse when the LH lounge closed after the last LH flight of the day. When you check in, you receive passes for the Virgin Clubhouse. The Qatar flight was also using the Virgin Clubhouse.
Duke777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 13, 4:22 pm   #8
  
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: PHX
Programs: US CP, MR Plat
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke777 View Post
When I flew IAD-IST, I started in the LH Senator's lounge and then moved over to the Virgin Atlantic Clubhouse when the LH lounge closed after the last LH flight of the day. When you check in, you receive passes for the Virgin Clubhouse. The Qatar flight was also using the Virgin Clubhouse.
Any idea how you get those passes to the Virgin Clubhouse when you check in at another airport?
seratonin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 13, 4:59 pm   #9
  
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.7MM, Hertz Platinum, Marriott Gold/SPG Lifetime Gold
Posts: 6,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by seratonin7 View Post
Any idea how you get those passes to the Virgin Clubhouse when you check in at another airport?
If you have TK Business Class ticket, your name should be on the list at the front desk of the lounge. If your name is there, you're good.
UAPremExecflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 13, 8:56 am   #10
  
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX
Programs: UA Silver, HHonors Gold, Marriot Gold, SPG Gold, Hyatt Plat
Posts: 283
Assume I can use a UA's United Club by showing my TK Y class boarding pass as a UA Plat (*G).
wyoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 13, 12:09 pm   #11
  
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS
Programs: UA 1K, WN A-List, SPG P100, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyoon View Post
Assume I can use a UA's United Club by showing my TK Y class boarding pass as a UA Plat (*G).
Yes, but why would you want to do that when you can use the Senator's Lounge or the Virgin Clubhouse, both of which are MUCH better than the United Club?
Duke777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 13, 1:58 pm   #12
  
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: AMEX Platinum, Global Entry, Priority Pass, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke777 View Post
Yes, but why would you want to do that when you can use the Senator's Lounge or the Virgin Clubhouse, both of which are MUCH better than the United Club?
They are both also much closer to the TK gate.
14940674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 13, 5:15 pm   #13
  
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.7MM, Hertz Platinum, Marriott Gold/SPG Lifetime Gold
Posts: 6,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke777 View Post
Yes, but why would you want to do that when you can use the Senator's Lounge or the Virgin Clubhouse, both of which are MUCH better than the United Club?
VS Lounge is technically not a *A lounge. TK uses it under contract for Business class passengers. You have to be on the list at the front desk and/or have an invitation to get in. Apparently*G does qualify with an invite from TK.

Last edited by UAPremExecflyer; Jan 24, 13 at 4:47 pm Reason: Corrected to say VS lounge access for *G with TK invite.
UAPremExecflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 13, 9:02 am   #14
  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under the Cone of Silence
Programs: UA Gold; AA Gold; HH Diamond; National EE; CONTROL SecretAgent Platinum; KAOS EvilFlyer Gold
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by UAPremExecflyer View Post
VS Lounge is not a *A lounge. TK uses it under contract for Business class passengers. You have to be on the list at the front desk and/or have an invitation to get in. *G doesn't qualify.
In November my wife flew TK IAD-IST in Y (award ticket), and as a *G (UA Plat) she was given access to the VS Lounge. She was connecting in IAD, and was given the invitation upon arrival at the TK gate. (Sadly, she spent the previous hour sitting in one of the UC's in the C/D concourse!)

I'm doing the same next month, looking forward to the VS lounge!

About 3 years ago, I was flying Qatar Airways IAD-DOH, and again, at the gate, I was given an invitation to the VS lounge on the strength of my UA 1K status, even though QR isn't a part of *A. Nice gesture on the part of the QR staff, I must say.

As for the VS lounge, all I can say is wow.

Last edited by Maxwell Smart; Jan 24, 13 at 9:07 am
Maxwell Smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 13, 12:03 pm   #15
  
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS
Programs: UA 1K, WN A-List, SPG P100, Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by UAPremExecflyer View Post
VS Lounge is not a *A lounge. TK uses it under contract for Business class passengers. You have to be on the list at the front desk and/or have an invitation to get in. *G doesn't qualify.
I received entry (along with a companion) because I was *G. I was seated in Y.
Duke777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top