Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 1, 08, 6:35 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Programs: Air New Zealand Gold Elite
Posts: 501
How to add photos to reports?

Hi, am planning to write a review of a series of flights next week on 3 different airlines, Air NZ, Virgin Atlantic, Oasis Hong Kong. Anyway, I want to add photos into the posts as some other reviewers have done.

How exactly do I do this? I have not been able to find this in the faq, and do i need to manage the flie size of photos my self or is this done automatically?

Also, is the "protocol" if there is such a thing, to have a different post for each segment or is it better to just put all flights into one post?

thanks!
oranjemakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 08, 6:44 pm   #2
Moderator: Information Desk, Travel Safety/Security forum & Women Travelers
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ATL
Programs: DL, AA
Posts: 5,920
How to imbed your photos depends on the host site you are using. There is a great sticky with helpful info. in the travel photography forum.

I don't know that there is an official "protocol", but one long post can be hard to read. So my preference, especially if you are including photos would be to break up the report. At the same time, I wouldn't want to see a 100 post trip report.
scoow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 08, 6:45 pm   #3
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: hopefully travelling
Programs: up in the air
Posts: 65,545
You need to size them yourself. They can be added using [ img ] and [ /img ] tags (without the spaces).

If you have lots of pics embedded then it is helpful to mention that in the title so those who have slow connections can avoid your thread. Otherwise use a photo hosting service and just put the link in your report.
__________________
Info~flightmemory||Menus~FT all airlines
Kiwi Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 08, 6:47 pm   #4
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Benicia CA
Programs: AA EXP 3.4MM, over entitled UA 1.1MM, enjoying the retired life
Posts: 26,677
One of the icons on the toolbar is for "insert photo". You can link to whatever site your photo is stored on using that tool. The photos on my recent Rome trip report are linked to my smugmug site, for instance. I'm able to select the photo size as part of the link (small, med, large, original).

Would be nice is we had a test area here on FT so folks could play with these features.

Here, for instance, is a photo with the small setting, then medium, and then large, all set from smugmug.


__________________
Link to my travel photos "Vivid Sydney", Brisbane, Melbourne, 2014 OzFest Uluru/Alice Springs (see Trip Report)
tom911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 08, 11:45 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL, Australia
Posts: 4,638
Sefty added this thumbnail tip in this thread Not sure if it works with all image hosting sites

I suggest centred image "Thumbnails" < 10Kb, with embedded links to larger versions.
Syntax:
"[CENTRE][url=<image url>[IMG]<image thumbnail URL>[/IMG]<new line>
<Image Title/Desc>[/url][/center]"
e.g.
__________________
Join the FT Kiva team
Mwenenzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 08, 3:18 am   #6
Moderator: Information Desk, Travel Safety/Security forum & Women Travelers
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ATL
Programs: DL, AA
Posts: 5,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom911 View Post
Would be nice is we had a test area here on FT so folks could play with these features.
That's actually a great idea. Why don't you start a "TEST" thread in the travel photography forum?

I've been using this method to try things: "Reply" to a thread, click "Preview Post" and click away from the thread without choosing "Submit Reply".
scoow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 08, 3:51 am   #7
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brighton England
Programs: AA,US,Priority
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoow View Post
That's actually a great idea. Why don't you start a "TEST" thread in the travel photography forum?

I've been using this method to try things: "Reply" to a thread, click "Preview Post" and click away from the thread without choosing "Submit Reply".
Ive been doing that as well, in preparation for an upcoming trip report. I noticed that this site has a photo gallery which doesnt seem well used, so i will set up an album in that location.
Gatwick Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 4:37 am   #8
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: QF WP - (I WISH!)
Posts: 43
Can you make it so that images appear in posts instead of just having useless links? (us guys over at A.net dont seem to have a problem)

cmon people, we need to keep with the times!

it is too hard to read a trip report when i have to open each link just to view one lousy picture...
wicked-will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 4:42 am   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: BHD/DUB
Programs: BA Gold, TK*G, EI Elite
Posts: 7,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked-will View Post
Can you make it so that images appear in posts instead of just having useless links?
They do, on some reports.

It's up to the poster, whether they link or embed.
FlyingOnceMore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 4:59 am   #10
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: QF WP - (I WISH!)
Posts: 43
From now on,

all posters must use embedded images.
wicked-will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 5:03 am   #11
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL, Australia
Posts: 4,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked-will View Post
Can you make it so that images appear in posts instead of just having useless links? (us guys over at A.net dont seem to have a problem)

cmon people, we need to keep with the times!

it is too hard to read a trip report when i have to open each link just to view one lousy picture...
Also depends on the settings in your own profile:- My flyertalk, settings & option, edit options (tick the last box)

You have the option to show or hide various elements of messages, which may be of use to users on slow internet connections, or who want to remove extraneous clutter from posts.
Show Signatures
Show Avatars
Show Images (including attached images and images in [IMG] code)
__________________
Join the FT Kiva team
Mwenenzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 5:26 am   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: QF WP - (I WISH!)
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
Also depends on the settings in your own profile:- My flyertalk, settings & option, edit options (tick the last box)

You have the option to show or hide various elements of messages, which may be of use to users on slow internet connections, or who want to remove extraneous clutter from posts.
Show Signatures
Show Avatars
Show Images (including attached images and images in [IMG] code)
Thanks,

seems to do the trick, but still, why should i have to do that?
wicked-will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 08, 5:36 am   #13
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL, Australia
Posts: 4,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked-will View Post
seems to do the trick, but still, why should i have to do that?
as stated
You have the option to show or hide various elements of messages, which may be of use to users on slow internet connections, or who want to remove extraneous clutter from posts.

My preference is no images, unless I am reading a TR by Seat 2A Its all your choice
__________________
Join the FT Kiva team
Mwenenzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 08, 1:35 pm   #14
TalkBoard President, A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold/1.78MM, Marriott LifetimePlatinum
Posts: 40,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked-will View Post
Thanks,

seems to do the trick, but still, why should i have to do that?
And why should I have to take extra time to add images in a thread when I've already uploaded them to my photo site & simply clicking on the link will take you to the image? Goes both ways...

Cheers.
__________________
Sharon
SkiAdcock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 08, 2:07 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,308
When I open a picture to print on a Trip report all I get is an Image number. I don't thin kit's enough to get it to work. On Airliners.net I get the complete address which is very long and it works there fine.
Bretteee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 2:32 am.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.