Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

TR: A never ending trip

Old Nov 26, 2015, 5:39 am
Original Poster

Programs: Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott

This is going to be a very different trip report. It will cover a trip that started nearly four years ago and that is nowhere near it's ending. This is because I'm a perpetual traveler and I'm going to post here on a regular basis about what it's like to live this lifestyle. The challenges, the anecdotes, the wow moments and of course the hotels/flights/trains.

First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm Simon and I'm from YUL. I've been traveling the world on a non-stop basis for nearly four years. If you had asked me five years ago what were my plans for the future, I'd have answered: graduate, get an office job and start saving for a house. Didn't happened that way though and it's all because of a radio show I listened to back then. They ran an episode about the five flag theory and let's just say it had a profound impact on me.

For those who haven't heard of it, it basically goes like this: you are the citizen of one country (flag one), you are the resident of another country (flag two), you own a business in another country (flag three), you bank in another country (flag four) and you live in any countries that isn't one of your other flags (flag five).

If done right, you can eliminate most of your tax burden legally but there is one caveat: you have to keep traveling in order to avoid becoming a tax resident in any country (other than flag two). That's why it's also sometimes referred to as the perpetual traveler theory.