Community
Wiki Posts
Search

A week in Costa Rica via American

Search this Thread

Old Sep 6, 2014, 3:02 pm
Original Poster

A week in Costa Rica via American

First post! As well as first trip report.

I'm pretty new to the miles and points game but after some lurking on FT and occasionally reading OMAT, I decided to go out of the US for my next vacation.

I found the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo deal of 4 nights get 2 free, and spontaneously decided that I was going to Costa Rica for my next vacation.

I decided to start my own blog to record my travel for mainly myself and family members but feel free to check out the pictures:

http://fancyworldtravel.blogspot.com/

American 1297 LGA-MIA
Boeing 737
August 19, 2014
Seats 4A,4B
Breakfast

I was ready to start my vacation. Unfortunately, my flight was delayed due to a plane problem. The pilot kept telling us to hold on just ten more minutes, which then became ten more minutes, etc. The purser on this flight didn't really care about offering drinks or helping calm people down about missing their connection. She pretty much said, "Sorry I can't do anything, why don't you just hope that your next flight is delayed so that you can catch it? You never know! Could be like this plane and be delayed due to plane problems." I made sure to give myself plenty of time to connect in Miami since I read horror stories about the airport, so I wasn't too worried about catching my connection.

Finally we took off and the purser started to heat up breakfast. She came through once to ask if anyone wanted water, then asked everyone for their breakfast order. I had pre-ordered mine online before my flight but she didn't seem to know. So I re-ordered the egg quesadilla with a cranberry orange muffin and orange juice.

I have to say that the quesadilla and fruit were really disgusting. I pretty much ended up eating the potatoes and muffin, and was thankful I had a blueberry muffin in the lounge, or I would have been even more hungry.