Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

Hungary Man. Spring Break in Budapest with the return in British Airways First Class

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Hungary Man. Spring Break in Budapest with the return in British Airways First Class

Search this Thread

Old Mar 20, 2014, 8:11 am
In Memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP/MM, DL GM, UA Platinum, HH DIA, Hyatt Explorist, IHG Platinum, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC

Bardot, Budapest, Alabama, Khrushchev
- Billy Joel

Background
I am a law student, this is my life:

But, I am still a student which means…SPRING BREAK! I only recently started school again so this is my first Spring Break in eight years. The idea of a week of from school AND work was almost too amazing to contemplate, but they don’t let people who can’t brainstorm into law school. So the question was begged…what to do and where to go? As recently as last year when looking at my list of countries I realized I didn’t have one starting with H. The list of H countries is not the best:

- Haiti
- Honduras
- Hungary

I think that choice is obvious. Plus, I’d loved Prague when I was there a few years ago and I wouldn’t say no to a little more Eastern Europe. That settled the where, but what about the how, as in, how do I get there? Thankfully, last year I’d earned quite a set of AA miles and I decided to do a BA First redemption on the way back. Now, this ended up annoying me because so many people acted like I said I was going to inner tube back with their comments of “eurrrrhhh fuel surcharge” and “it’s an inferior product”. Well thanks, I usually fly RJs between RDU and JFK, I think I’ll be pretty impressed with my first ever Trans-Atlantic First. And $400 is a fair price to pay for it. And of course being me, I had to tack on a bunch of extra flights, including one to try the new AA A-319.