Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 10, 08, 11:21 am   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ORD MDW
Programs: AA, UA, DL , PC Gold, SPG Gold, Avis PC - 2009 FT Fantasy Football Champion
Posts: 6,217
Terminal Hopping

What other airports are configured like ORD where once you pass security you can freely walk between terminals.
I am interest in terms of using an airlines’ lounge but flying on another carrier.


Free to Roam List
AMS ATL AUS BAH BDL BKK BUF BRU CGK CLE CLT CPH CTA DEN DFW DUS HAM HEL HKG HNL IAD ICN KUL MEM MSP MUC NRT OAK ORD OSL PDX PHL PIT PVD RIX ROC SEA SIN SLC SNA TXL VCE VIE


Portions free to Roam List (Limited access)
ARN access to Terminal 5 when flying out of Terminal 2 even though the transfer includes a landside bus.
IAH(B,C,D,E) (CO, International, Bus to half of A w/ CO,DL,NW)
SFO(E,F) (AA/UA)
LAX(4,5) (AA/DL/Qantas)
LAX(6,7,8) (CO/UA)
LAX T6 & T5 using the underground tunnel gives access to T5 - T8 airside
MCO is only half and half (gates 1-59 on one, and 60+ the other).
PBI you cannot connect between the two terminal piers
BNA (domestic concourses are all connected, international terminal is not)
ZRH (Has main terminal (2 piers) and satellite terminal. Can freely wander around the main terminal.
ADL CHC DUD HLZ OOL WLG ZQN (all except international arrivals & departures)
SIN (LCC terminal is separate)
STL (B, C, and D are all connected) (A and E are separate)
AMS BCN CPH FCO HEL WAW (schengen & non-schengen zones)
DCA (USair runs a shuttle bus between the gates 23-34 pier and the gates 35-45 pier. You catch the shuttle at gate 36 and I think 23 or 24)


Disconnected
AKL APW BNE BOS BWI CAI CNS CVG DTW EWR FLL FRA IND JFK KIX LAS LGA LGW LHR MAN MEL MCI MKE NAN OMA PER PHX PPT SAN SAT SCL SJC SMF SYD TBU TPA VLI YVR

.....
....
__________________
Bring back Ted airlines, I miss the moaning and complaining.

Last edited by sobore; Apr 20, 11 at 12:15 pm. Reason: Updated airport lists
sobore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 11:47 am   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DFW
Programs: PLAT -- 2.7Million
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobore View Post
What other airports are configured like ORD where once you pass security you can freely walk between terminals.
I am interest in terms of using an airlines’ lounge but flying on another carrier.
At DFW you can walk between A,B,C and D. Did it Saturday.
You'd need the SkyLink to get to E. The SkyLink also accesses A,B,C and D.
AAJetMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 11:53 am   #3
Moderator, United Airlines, FlyerTalk Evangelist
2014 Elections
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Over-Entitled COdbaUA-1kMM, HH Plebe, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 25,701
at sfo, you can walk between the ua and aa sections of terminal 3. technically the same terminal but ua is in "f" (gates 68-90) and aa is in "e" (gates 60-67). don't know about the rest of the airport tho
__________________
Moe, Larry, the cheese
goalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 12:00 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: on the Llano Estacado
Posts: 2,580
At IAH (Houston) you can't really walk between terminals, but you can ride the tram in the basement and stay airside.
deubster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 12:07 pm   #5
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: HKG
Programs: Priority Club Plat
Posts: 11,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by deubster View Post
At IAH (Houston) you can't really walk between terminals, but you can ride the tram in the basement and stay airside.
That is false. The basement train at IAH is landside.

There is the TerminaLink train above ground between terminals B, C and D/E that's airside. And C/D/E are all interconnected so you can walk round and round.

Continental has a bus that goes airside to the northside of Terminal A, but they are for passengers connecting to/from Colgan Air's CO Connection or DL/NW flights there.
rkkwan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 12:49 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: YVR
Programs: Aeroplan Former E
Posts: 1,008
Seatac allows you to wander pretty freely. Not sure about the "international" departures in the South terminal, but otherwise no problem hopping between the difference concourses and the North satellite on their internal trams and/or walking.
__________________
A Wet Coast Flier
Jalinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 12:55 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MEL
Programs: VA Gold, VN Titanium, BA Blue
Posts: 3,180
SIN has an airside guided railway thing to take you between terminals. I used it to go to the T3 SKL when my flight was in T2.
__________________
whinging pom
Mr H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 1:10 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (SJC/SFO)
Programs: UA 1K MM, HH Diamond, IHG Gold, Marriott Gold, National Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 3,588
When I'm out on the tarmac at SJC terminal C disembarking via the airstairs, I could make a run for terminal A, but there aren't many ground level entrances over there At least the UA/NW/CO/US portion of SJC is now behind the same security checkpoint as AS/DL.

OAK, DEN, IAD, ATL. Are we counting CLE, PHL, CLT, PIT - which are all just different arms off of one beast? Or MSP which is just a big donut with legs? Not counting AUS, SNA, PVD, BUF, etc - they aren't really different concourses. Similarly not counting airprots like CIC. MCI is the anti-connected airport.

Last edited by elCheapoDeluxe; Mar 10, 08 at 1:31 pm.
elCheapoDeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 3:23 pm   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 305
Using a different airline's lounge

Quote:
Originally Posted by sobore View Post
I am interest in terms of using an airlines’ lounge but flying on another carrier.
I've tried this on a few occasions. Unless I was flying out on their plane (or their partners' plane), they wouldn't let me in.
jezsik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 3:28 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (SJC/SFO)
Programs: UA 1K MM, HH Diamond, IHG Gold, Marriott Gold, National Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 3,588
That all depends on how you're trying to get access. For example, if you are flying on AA but have a UA RCC membership, there is no problem using a RCC somewhere even when you aren't flying AA. But trying to get into a US lounge won't work because your RCC membership only allows access when you have a same day US boarding pass. DL/CO/NW all allow access to each others lounges for lounge members regardless of same day travel, but trying to use that NW WC membership to get access to an AS lounge when you're flying some other carrier won't work.
elCheapoDeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 3:30 pm   #11
PJK
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: AMS
Programs: KL/AF FB Plat, Hilton Silver, La Quinta Gold
Posts: 1,159
AMS is one of them; although you have to go though passport control and (one way) security when going from Schengen to non-Schengen...
PJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 7:54 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 17,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJK View Post
AMS is one of them; although you have to go though passport control and (one way) security when going from Schengen to non-Schengen...
You do mean the other way around (security non-Schengen to Schengen).

You could apply this to MXP and FCO is such a case.
__________________
Drifting aimlessly between YVR and YLW
YVR Cockroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 7:55 pm   #13
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Programs: statusless these days
Posts: 17,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalinth View Post
Seatac allows you to wander pretty freely. Not sure about the "international" departures in the South terminal, but otherwise no problem hopping between the difference concourses and the North satellite on their internal trams and/or walking.
Completely free to wander around. South satellite is also used by NW domestic flights as well as the odd AS/QX one.
__________________
Drifting aimlessly between YVR and YLW
YVR Cockroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 8:33 pm   #14
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ORD MDW
Programs: AA, UA, DL , PC Gold, SPG Gold, Avis PC - 2009 FT Fantasy Football Champion
Posts: 6,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by elCheapoDeluxe View Post
When I'm out on the tarmac at SJC terminal C disembarking via the airstairs, I could make a run for terminal A, but there aren't many ground level entrances over there At least the UA/NW/CO/US portion of SJC is now behind the same security checkpoint as AS/DL.

OAK, DEN, IAD, ATL. Are we counting CLE, PHL, CLT, PIT - which are all just different arms off of one beast? Or MSP which is just a big donut with legs? Not counting AUS, SNA, PVD, BUF, etc - they aren't really different concourses. Similarly not counting airprots like CIC. MCI is the anti-connected airport.
ECD,

Are you saying that all of these are free to roam post security?

OAK, DEN, IAD, ATL. CLE, PHL, CLT, PIT
__________________
Bring back Ted airlines, I miss the moaning and complaining.
sobore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 08, 10:05 pm   #15
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Jose, CA (SJC/SFO)
Programs: UA 1K MM, HH Diamond, IHG Gold, Marriott Gold, National Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 3,588
Yep - to the best of my knowledge OAK, DEN, IAD, ATL, CLE, PHL, CLT, PIT, MSP, SEA, ORD, PDX, AUS, SNA, PVD, BUF, HNL are all free to roam. I'm sure there are more.

Last edited by elCheapoDeluxe; Mar 10, 08 at 10:19 pm.
elCheapoDeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 7:23 am.