Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

What jobs / careers require or involve travel? (merged 2014+)

Old Jan 29, 2014, 2:46 pm
Original Poster

Hello everyone,

My youngest niece has just asked me what I do for a living and how it allows me to travel all the time*. She is particularly fond of the new stories I have to share every time I manage to meet her and my brother for dinner. I am an IT consultant based in Europe and she did not really like the description of my job after I explained her what I do for a living.

Then, it was just a matter of seconds until her second (and tougher) question: "What jobs allow you to travel all the time on the company's dime?"

I replied: consulting, finance (don't know exactly what positions, though), some academic positions, and of course... pilots and FA!

However, I can't help but feel that my list was embarrassingly short, so I decided to come here for help and have a "powerful" list the next time we meet.

She has a scientific background and a BSc in Applied Mathematics but she is bored and willing to make a radical career shift if this one perk is provided: (long haul) flying and travelling.

I must say that I am very curious myself regarding your answers!

*The use of "all the time" was hers; compared to most of you I am just an occasional traveler.
Old Jan 29, 2014, 3:54 pm

Programs: AA PLT, 1.8mm
Originally Posted by mmff
"What jobs allow you to travel all the time on the company's dime?"
I seem to notice flight attendants on a majority of my flights.
Old Jan 29, 2014, 3:57 pm

Originally Posted by cynicAAl
Every now and then I see a pilot on my flight too
Old Jan 29, 2014, 3:58 pm

Programs: AC SE, SPG Plat, FPC Plat, Marriott Plat, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Diamond
This questions come over time and time again. If you're truly interested, I suggest searching the forums as the answers are already there.
Old Jan 29, 2014, 4:00 pm

Programs: DL DM, SPG AMB, National EE
FTers - What jobs?