Wiki Posts
Search

FF's: Do you have amateur moments?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 7, 2015, 6:57 am
Original Poster

Programs: United 1K (Star Alliance Gold) IHG Platinum

I'm a fairly frequent flyer (~150k per year) and have been for years, and in most aspects I am experienced and travel all over the world with ease.

However, no matter what I do and how well I organize, I always have issues getting through security. I seem to struggle and look like a total noob no matter when and where.. even with pre-check.

YES I am the terrible person in front of you in the line that's dropping things, taking too much time, and generally looking like an unorganized mess. I have tried to fix this and gotten slightly better, but not much

What is your travel weakness or amateur moment when you are on the road?
Old Aug 7, 2015, 7:03 am

Programs: DL DM/2MM, MR Ambassador, National EE

Why is it so hard to be prepared to go through security, especially when you do it very regularly and know exactly what to expect when you get there? I don't get that and never will.
Old Aug 7, 2015, 7:07 am

Programs: Star Alliance
Yep, I have them a lot, it never fails that I set at least one alarm off in security during the trip.
I usually forget about little foil packets of medication in my pockets and that sets off the UK detectors but strangely never sets off most of the Asian or European airport detectors(even went through changi wearing a belt and never set it off)
Old Aug 7, 2015, 7:12 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by krlcomm
Why is it so hard to be prepared to go through security, especially when you do it very regularly and know exactly what to expect when you get there? I don't get that and never will.
At this point, I'm sure it's totally psychological. Perhaps performance anxiety?
Old Aug 7, 2015, 7:35 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond