Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Is domestic travel becoming only for business and the rich?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Is domestic travel becoming only for business and the rich?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 24, 2014, 7:13 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Originally Posted by OskiBear
Maybe it has to do with routes and competition.

I'm flying LAX-OAK tomorrow for $59 o/w on Southwest. That pricing hasn't changed in the 25 years I've been doing the flight since I was a college student...
LAX-Bay Area is definitely an aberrational market, in that it has real competition ($59 is a great fare for that market these days, though).

Originally Posted by Often1
OP may be thinking about the cratering of fares (and carriers) occasioned by the financial crisis. That will never happen again as carriers have learned to cut capacity rather than fares.
People talk about the "financial crisis" as a great drop in fares but, really, the big drops were in int'l fares. Like I remember flying to Moscow for little more than $200. There was more domestic inventory in the USA, but the fares weren't really cheaper than what we'd seen since the '80s. The real triggers for domestic increases are the industry consolidation and WN's decision to abandon cheap pricing. This has been a noticeable trend for several years, but it picked up steam in 2013 and, by this year, has resulted in very few domestic travel deals. Like it's practically put the flyertalk "mileage run" forum out of business.
Old Sep 24, 2014, 8:45 pm

Programs: AS MVP, Hhonors Gold, National Executive, Identity Gold, MLife Gold
No it is not. Plenty of cheap fares to places people want to travel to.
Old Sep 24, 2014, 10:25 pm
Moderator: Manufactured Spending