Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Best airline for overweight passengers? (first time flyer)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 26, 2013, 4:33 pm
Original Poster

Question Best airline for overweight passengers? (first time flyer)

Hi. This will be my first time flying and I'm scared out of my mind. Not only because it's my first time flying, not even because i'm scared of heights or crashing. I'm terrified i'm "too fat to fly" as some put it. I'm scared I'll be kicked off the plane or something else might happen.

I'm tall and big but I can deal with not having leg room. I just worry about being too big. What has your experience been? I'm looking in to delta. Have you had good or bad experiences with them? Will I have to fly first class to fit? I already know I'll be asking for a seat belt extender but I'm not sure if I'll fit in the seat.
Any help would be amazing!

Thank you.
Old Mar 26, 2013, 4:37 pm

Programs: Air Canada, Hyatt

How big are we talking?
Old Mar 26, 2013, 4:38 pm

Programs: Air Canada, Hyatt

First class, if affordable to you, maybe be your best option, but you should really call delta because depending in how big you are they may require you to buy an extra seat.
Old Mar 26, 2013, 6:14 pm

Programs: AA Lifetime Plat, Marriot Lifetime Gold
Either first class or two coach seats.
Old Mar 26, 2013, 6:14 pm

My aunt is heavy and would sometimes buy 2 seats when flying, not just for the people around her but also for herself. Obviously this costs more, but I would encourage you to consider it for your own comfort. If you call the airline, I am sure they would be happy to assist and can discuss your financial options. Airline seats are quite small in coach, first class seats are larger and significantly more comfortable.
Old Mar 26, 2013, 7:11 pm

Programs: AA ExP, Marriott Amb, National EAE, Hilton Diamond, SPG Plat (RIP), US CP (RIP)

You will also want to consider the specific aircraft.