Go Back   FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz!
Sign in using an external account

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 9, 12, 12:11 pm   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: close to a lav
Programs: UA 1K (1MM)
Posts: 4,776
Legit? Award of 2 round trip airline tickets

I got a strange letter in the postal mail today. It was an unmarked white envelope with my address handwritten in blue ink and postmarked from Phoenix, AZ.

The letter inside is letter-headed from "American Airways"

Everything in my brain says that this is NOT LEGITIMATE.

Quote:
December 3rd, 2012

warreng24
my home address
my home address

NOTE: You must respond no later than December 12th, 2012.

Dear warreng24,

I am pleased to inform you that you have qualified for an award of 2 roundtrip airline tickets. Congratulations. These tickets are valid for travel anywhere in the Continental U.S. from any major international airport. The retail value of this award is up to $1,398.00. Certain restrictions apply.

We have attempted contacting you several times without success. This is our last attempt. If we do not hear from you soon, we may need to issue the ticket vouchers to the alternate.

Please call me today at 1-866-949-1811.

Regards,

Denise Cole

Vice President
The bottom of the letter has the words "UC-39637"

Thoughts? Anyone else ever gotten something like this?
__________________
Premier Executive 1K just sounds better than Premier 1K
warreng24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 12:14 pm   #2
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 402
Sounds like a scam to me.

Since they have a TF number it might be worth calling for more info, but I'd wager that you'll be asked to pay some sort of "processing fee," at which point you'll know it's a scam.
FXWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 12:32 pm   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Legit? Award of 2 round trip airline tickets

Isn't there a notice on AA.com of a phishing scam to warn people of stuff like this?
nolankmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:01 pm   #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: AS MVPG, UA 1P, SPG Gold
Posts: 252
It's a scam. I got something similar from "US Airlines" a few months back, virtually identically worded letter to yours. Google it and you'll quickly run across multiple similar reports.
braffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:01 pm   #5
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: UA 1K, AA Exec Plat, SPG Plat, HH Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Silv, PC Plat Amb, Fairmont Premier
Posts: 7,273
Most definitely sounds like a scam. You might want to report it to AA or even appropriate authorities (your state's Attorney General?) if you have the time and energy to follow up on it.
__________________
Great miles think alike.
Thunderroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:03 pm   #6
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BOS
Programs: AS MVPG, UA 1P, SPG Gold
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderroad:19824621
Most definitely sounds like a scam. You might want to report it to AA or even appropriate authorities (your state's Attorney General?) if you have the time and energy to follow up on it.
AA probably can't do much about it as these scammers are at least clever enough not to use an actual airline's name.
braffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:05 pm   #7
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,244
Absolutely it's a scam. Any time you receive something like that with the sentences - "We have attempted contacting you several times without success. This is our last attempt." - you can be certain it is NOT legit. They are trying to rush you into doing something you will regret.
__________________
Flyingmama ....
Flyingmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:12 pm   #8
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Programs: UA GS, DL PLAT, Hilton Avis Hertz
Posts: 680
Since you delayed, I got your voucher instead of you. Sorry.

Im on my way to Nigeria in FC, to pick up my 1,000,000 in gold bullion being held for me for a mere 10k in earnest money.

My earnest money is in checked bags - the had a guy meet me at the airport who even checked the bag for me while I checked in at the TA..great service!!
LaserSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 1:32 pm   #9
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Legit? Award of 2 round trip airline tickets

There is no airline called "American Airways". That surely did not come from American Airlines. Most likely it is a time share presentation.
sandi88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 4:11 pm   #10
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: FRA
Programs: UA 1K, AA Exec Plat, MR Plat, HH Gold
Posts: 223
Legit? Award of 2 round trip airline tickets

Definitely scam. Old story. Several newschannels have highlighted this scam. Some sort of travel agency trying to get people to sign up for some travel club.
coplatflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 11:14 pm   #11
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cypress Hills Research Center
Posts: 2,734
As sandi88 noted, the first clue that something is amiss is that the letter came from American Airways and not American Airlines.

When in doubt you can often get a good feel for the legitimacy of such correspondence by entering the phone number into any search engine. In this case you'd see lots of reports about it being a scam.
uszkanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 12, 11:20 pm   #12
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atherton, CA
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP; Owner, Green Bay Packers
Posts: 5,195
It is mail fraud, turn it in at your post office if you wish.
__________________
Doc Savage -Current Location
Doc Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 12, 8:57 am   #13
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, A3 Blue (* Silver), MR/SPG/PC Gold, HH Diamond, Nat ExecElite
Posts: 28,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaserSailor View Post
Im on my way to Nigeria in FC, to pick up my 1,000,000 in gold bullion
That's definitely a scam...they're going to hit you with all kinds of overweight baggage fees on the way home!!
pinniped is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 12, 9:34 am   #14
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Next to a salty lake in Utah
Programs: Delta, United
Posts: 2,154
Call the scammer and prank them:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFgsl9yskUE
FlyingUnderTheRadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 12, 10:03 am   #15
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Programs: CO-plat, SPG-plat
Posts: 1,396
Have you ever heard of scam baiting? I suggest we take turns calling Denise Cole at 1-866-949-1811. One could have a little fun provoking them with obscene requests!
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 1:06 pm.




SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.