Go Back   > >
    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 9, 15, 2:51 pm   -   Wikipost
FlyerTalk Forums Thread Wiki: Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IMH
Wiki Link
Temporary wiki. Please read before changing: thanks! usAir created this wiki to hold the entire contents of the Airline Route Mapper data file. I've just edited it to remove that data, so should explain why: I appreciate usAir's initiative, but don't think the wiki in that form was a step forward.

1.) The data file is IMO too large to post in this location. Some (if not all) browsers load the entire wiki each time the thread is accessed. That had the effect of killing my browser for two to three minutes, then slowing my computer dramatically (and my setup, while not especially good, isn't the world's worst: DSL connection, latest Firefox version, 8GB RAM).

2.) The data initially posted were old ("from the last version of the airline route mapper", according to usAir's post on March 9 2015) and easily accessible (download Link: http://arm.64hosts.com/AirlineRouteMapper.zip), so nothing is lost by removing them from the wiki.

IMH
--
Print Wikipost

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 1, 07, 1:34 pm   #31
Suspended
  
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: I am usually found in YYC or GIG
Programs: UAL Premex
Posts: 1,858
How does it differ from this aviation specific program which has been out for years...........?

http://gc.kls2.com/

Last edited by Carioca Canuck; Dec 2, 07 at 11:58 am
Carioca Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 07, 2:37 pm   #32
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carioca Canuck View Post
How does it differ from this aviation specfic program which has been out for years...........?

http://gc.kls2.com/
The purpose of my tool is not to plot arbitrary routes like the GC mapper does, but to show you airline route maps (routes actually flown by various airlines).
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 07, 12:18 pm   #33
Suspended
  
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: I am usually found in YYC or GIG
Programs: UAL Premex
Posts: 1,858
Friday I am flying as follows on United...........YYC-DEN-IAD-GIG.

YYC-DEN is 898 miles on the GC mapper and 899 on yours.
DEN-IAD is 1452 miles on the GC mapper and 1450 on yours.
IAD-GIG is 4791 miles on the GC mapper and 4811 on yours.

A difference of 22 miles on a trip of 7141 miles.....a difference of 00.33 %. The UAL website shows the same numbers as the GC mapper.......so I don't think it's arbitrary at all.

I don't see the point.....or what is different. Sorry.

Last edited by Carioca Canuck; Dec 2, 07 at 12:42 pm
Carioca Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 07, 1:05 pm   #34
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carioca Canuck View Post
Friday I am flying as follows on United...........YYC-DEN-IAD-GIG.

YYC-DEN is 898 miles on the GC mapper and 899 on yours.
DEN-IAD is 1452 miles on the GC mapper and 1450 on yours.
IAD-GIG is 4791 miles on the GC mapper and 4811 on yours.

A difference of 22 miles on a trip of 7141 miles.....a difference of 00.33 %. The UAL website shows the same numbers as the GC mapper.......so I don't think it's arbitrary at all.

I don't see the point.....or what is different. Sorry.
I'm completely baffled by whatever your point is. Sorry.
Cheetah_SA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 07, 1:18 pm   #35
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eppley Airfield Gate B14
Programs: UA ex 1P/now 2P; Hertz 5* (but who isn't)
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
The text in pop up boxes should be black, as shown on this screenshot.

Do pop up boxes look different on your PC? Or are you talking about something else?
Here is what I see. Windows XP SP2, Intel 945GM graphics on Toshiba Satellite Centrino Duo processor.
omahajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 07, 5:25 pm   #36
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by omahajim View Post
Here is what I see. Windows XP SP2, Intel 945GM graphics on Toshiba Satellite Centrino Duo processor.
Got it, thanks! Very strange, must be an OpenGL issue. Does anyone else have this problem?

Are all text labels for airports readable? The DEN label seems to be missing a shadow, not sure if it is a JPEG artifact or a real problem.

If you use the View|Find menu command to find an airport, then click OK, does the "find result" label show a black text, or is it unreadable as well?
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 07, 6:43 pm   #37
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eppley Airfield Gate B14
Programs: UA ex 1P/now 2P; Hertz 5* (but who isn't)
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
Got it, thanks! Are all text labels for airports readable? The DEN label seems to be missing a shadow, not sure if it is a JPEG artifact or a real problem.

...does the "find result" label show a black text, or is it unreadable as well?
JPEG artifact, the city labels look normal here. All text boxes for all the various features have the same color scheme I showed.

Thanks for looking in to it.
omahajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 07, 12:27 pm   #38
  
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alexandria VA, Washington, DC or Pick 5
Programs: UA 1P, Hertz 5*, Avis Preferred
Posts: 1,063
Very, very nice tool!!!!! Thank you very much!!!
Madhouse24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 07, 12:40 pm   #39
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carioca Canuck View Post
Friday I am flying as follows on
A difference of 22 miles on a trip of 7141 miles.....a difference of 00.33 %. The UAL website shows the same numbers as the GC mapper.......so I don't think it's arbitrary at all.

I don't see the point.....or what is different. Sorry.
This mapper isn't meant to calculate mileage...it shows actual scheduled routes offered by airlines. The Great Circle Mapper gives you a map and mileage based upon city pairs you enter.
soitgoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 07, 2:33 pm   #40
  
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Flagstaff, AZ USA
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 383
Sweet tool, thanks! I noticed that Air Greenland (http://www.airgreenland.com, airline code GL) is conspicuously absent, though. It would be awesome if you add GL in one of your future updates!
Darien-l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 07, 7:49 pm   #41
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Castro, San Francisco, California
Programs: UA, DL, AA, Aegean Air, Cal Alumni (go Bears!)
Posts: 567
Smile Wow. way cool. Sehr gut!

This is really fun. Are there not any airlines that fly to the Galapogos Islands, or are they just charters? Even if this is a work in progress it is wonderful.

Thank You
x1achilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 07, 7:54 pm   #42
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Castro, San Francisco, California
Programs: UA, DL, AA, Aegean Air, Cal Alumni (go Bears!)
Posts: 567
Question The info boxes are hard to read.

The small info boxes that pop up when you hover over a route or airport are in white and the lettering is also in white making them almost impossible to read for me. Is there a way to adjust the color of the background of these boxes?
Thanks!
x1achilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 07, 12:39 am   #43
Suspended
  
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL Plat, NW Plat
Posts: 708
This is a wonderful tool. Thank you!

I noticed that seasonal flights don't show up. Is this on purpose? For instance, NW goes nonstop to GCM and STT on Saturday's during the winter. I'm sure there are others also. Is there a way to add these myself?

Thanks again!
jcherney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 07, 10:22 am   #44
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darien-l
It would be awesome if you add GL in one of your future updates!
I am planning to add Air Greenland in the future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by x1achilles
Are there not any airlines that fly to the Galapogos Islands, or are they just charters?
AEROGAL and TAME fly to Galapagos from Ecuador. These airlines are not included in the tool (yet).

Quote:
The small info boxes that pop up when you hover over a route or airport are in white and the lettering is also in white making them almost impossible to read for me. Is there a way to adjust the color of the background of these boxes?
The white lettering is a bug that appears on some systems, it should be black. I hope to fix it in the next update. There is no way to change the color.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcherney
I noticed that seasonal flights don't show up. Is this on purpose? For instance, NW goes nonstop to GCM and STT on Saturday's during the winter.
Are you sure? I think the NW routes EWR-GCM and EWR-STT are codeshares operated by CO. When I select NW and enable codeshares in the tool, I get to see them. For most airlines, the tool should have seasonal routes as well.

Quote:
I'm sure there are others also. Is there a way to add these myself?
Right now it is not possible to add routes yourself. Maybe I'll add this in the future.
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 07, 6:53 pm   #45
Suspended
  
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Metro Detroit
Programs: DL Plat, NW Plat
Posts: 708
Yes. I'm sure. The flight I'm on is NW 1731 DTW-STT (Feb 2 08). It's definately not a codeshare with anyone (as far as I know). And the DTW-GCM is flight 1796 (Mar 22 08) which is a codeshare w/ CO, but it's on NW metal.

I can't speak for the flights out of EWR...
jcherney is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top