Go Back   > >
    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 9, 15, 2:51 pm   -   Wikipost
FlyerTalk Forums Thread Wiki: Airline Route Mapper tool (windows based)
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IMH
Wiki Link
Temporary wiki. Please read before changing: thanks! usAir created this wiki to hold the entire contents of the Airline Route Mapper data file. I've just edited it to remove that data, so should explain why: I appreciate usAir's initiative, but don't think the wiki in that form was a step forward.

1.) The data file is IMO too large to post in this location. Some (if not all) browsers load the entire wiki each time the thread is accessed. That had the effect of killing my browser for two to three minutes, then slowing my computer dramatically (and my setup, while not especially good, isn't the world's worst: DSL connection, latest Firefox version, 8GB RAM).

2.) The data initially posted were old ("from the last version of the airline route mapper", according to usAir's post on March 9 2015) and easily accessible (download Link: http://arm.64hosts.com/AirlineRouteMapper.zip), so nothing is lost by removing them from the wiki.

IMH
--
Print Wikipost

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 23, 07, 11:23 am   #16
  
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Programs: AA EXP, DL, UA
Posts: 139
Handy tool - thanks. I like that it is offline so I don't have to be "connected" to use it.
AirP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 07, 4:57 pm   #17
  
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: HEL
Programs: Turkish M&S Gold
Posts: 3,980
Really cool! Great work!
Gnopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 2:49 am   #18
  
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CPT
Programs: BA BD SA
Posts: 4,180
Neat tool! In case you're planning an update... the list of OW carriers is also deficient - missing RJ.
Cheetah_SA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 3:12 am   #19
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,041
Thanks for the kind words!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheetah_SA View Post
Neat tool! In case you're planning an update... the list of OW carriers is also deficient - missing RJ.
I know this, but I don't have a route map for RJ (yet). Some RJ routes from AMM will show up if you enable codeshares. There are also a few other important route maps missing, notably CI.

A web version may appear at some point in the future, but my priority right now is to get data on more airlines, improve the data accuracy, add a simple planner and maybe also a simple availability checker for RTW planning.
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 3:27 am   #20
  
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Programs: BA Blue, Hilton Diamond, Accor Plat
Posts: 184
This is excellent - thank you!
rtwflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 5:13 pm   #21
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: home = LAX
Posts: 19,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
Suggestions or bug reports are welcome.
First off it, it's great in most ways. Thanks!

One specific problem, though: I can't seem to find a way to display American Eagle and American Connection flights (the regional jet arms of AA). I'm don't think they have separate airline code, they're just 3xxx (and maybe also 4xxx?) flight numbers on AA. From LAX, there are a number of Eagle-only AA destinations, such as FAT (Frencso CA) that you don't show. (You show FAT but not with a direct flight to LAX, on AA or otherwise.)

Are you cutting off flight numbers above a certain threshold (to weed out codeshares), and could that number be too low (blocking out regional subsidiaries too)?

Btw, UA also flies nonstop LAX-FAT using a regional subsidiary (in that case again using regular UA flight numbers but this time in the 5xxx range), but again you don't show that.

It's obvious you can't use one flight number cutoff for all airlines, as UA is using 5xxx for its own RJ flights, but AS uses 4xxx for codeshares!
sdsearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 5:41 pm   #22
  
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,121
Hey thanks, I like it!
aurigakb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 5:46 pm   #23
  
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: UA Plat, AA Plat, DL Plat, SPG Plat, HH Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, Avis PC, LEYE Gold
Posts: 2,840
Cool tool - thanks!
ECOTONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 07, 7:11 pm   #24
  
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 113
Very usefull. Thank you very much!
stevelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 07, 1:07 am   #25
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsearch View Post
One specific problem, though: I can't seem to find a way to display American Eagle and American Connection flights (the regional jet arms of AA).
You should see these flights if you enable codeshares on the toolbar.
Currently, there is no way to distinguish between codeshares with other airlines and regional operations of the same airline though. I hope to have that at some point in the future. The problem is, regionals appear as "codeshares" in most timetable data, but there is no information who operates the codeshare.
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 07, 10:12 am   #26
  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 159
Mac Emulation

For folks with recent Macs (with Intel processors) - you no longer need to emulate a PC, Macs now use the same processors as wintel machines.

If you only need to run one or two Wintel programs, first try Crossover Mac from Codeweavers. It manages to let you run many Wintel programs without having to buy Windows itself.

If you want to actually run Windows, you can install it with Apple's BootCamp, included in OS X 10.5 (Leopard). That let's you reboot your Mac into Windows. The only cost is a copy of Windows (OEM versions are under $200). We actually have one client who found that an 8-core Mac Pro was the fastest Windows machine they could buy at the price, they use to for a rendering engine.

If you want to run Windows in another window while using your Mac (without rebooting) Parallels and VMWare Fusion both allow that, and each costs about $80. Parallels is more mature, Fusion seems slightly faster (but both are quite fast). Again, you also have to buy Windows itself.

If you are not sure if your Mac has an Intel processor or not, under the Apple menu select "About this Mac" and the processor info will be shown. If it includes the word "Intel" then all the above applies. If it says PowerPC, it may be time for an upgraded Mac!
dlerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 07, 2:58 pm   #27
  
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: calgary
Programs: ac
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cockpitvisit View Post
You should see these flights if you enable codeshares on the toolbar.
Currently, there is no way to distinguish between codeshares with other airlines and regional operations of the same airline though. I hope to have that at some point in the future. The problem is, regionals appear as "codeshares" in most timetable data, but there is no information who operates the codeshare.
wow and i thought i wasted a whole day, trying to figure out codes and arguments on the biz / first class deal thread.
Now i have found something very usefull. Thanks!!!!
panwestern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 07, 6:48 pm   #28
  
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eppley Airfield Gate B14
Programs: UA ex 1P/now 2P; Hertz 5* (but who isn't)
Posts: 660
Thanks cockpitvisit, nice app.

It may be just me, but I find the color scheme makes the pop up boxes hard to read. White or light yellow/tan text on an only slightly darker background is very difficult to make out for my eyes.

Maybe a dark blue or otherwise dark font would be helpful?

Thanks
omahajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 07, 11:01 pm   #29
  
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Dude. That's cool as heck. Nice work!
gitsumjunkmail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 07, 10:02 am   #30
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by omahajim View Post
It may be just me, but I find the color scheme makes the pop up boxes hard to read. White or light yellow/tan text on an only slightly darker background is very difficult to make out for my eyes.
The text in pop up boxes should be black, as shown on this screenshot.

Do pop up boxes look different on your PC? Or are you talking about something else?
cockpitvisit is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top