Go Back   > >
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 9, 15, 8:28 am   #1
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tri-State Area
Posts: 4,716
WiFi calling on AT&T

Thread starter for AT&T users, congrats!

http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/08/...now-available/
dtsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 9:03 am   #2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Programs: UA Plat/*G, Starriot Plat
Posts: 14,233
Really? Can't use it outside the US?
pseudoswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 9:41 am   #3
Original Poster
  
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tri-State Area
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudoswede View Post
Really? Can't use it outside the US?
I'm a TMO fanboy so happy camper, LOL. At least it's a start for AT&T.

dtsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 10:37 am   #4
  
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BGR; Lower Earth Orbit
Programs: UA Bronze, DL Gold, Avis First, Owner's Circle - Green Bay Packers
Posts: 8,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudoswede View Post
Really? Can't use it outside the US?
It seems you also can't turn on airplane mode and wifi back on to force wifi calling.
WIRunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 1:50 pm   #5
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: LGA - JFK
Programs: UA, AA, DL, B6, CX, KE, Latitude, VIFP, Crown & Anchor, etc.
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIRunner View Post
It seems you also can't turn on airplane mode and wifi back on to force wifi calling.
iPhone5S here on 9.0.2 - these are my T-Mo WiFi Call settings
Airplane mode - OFF
WiFi - ON (to whatever network)
Cellular - OFF
Carrier (status: T-Mobile WiFi)
and
under, Phone
WiFi Calling - ON (Make and receive calls over Wi-Fi with your T-Mobile account) ... plus E911 Update Emergency Address (done)

That's how we've been making T-Mo WiFi calls - using the cellular # under T-Mobile (not Hangouts or Talkatone, etc.) no charges or minutes deducted against any airtime, even when we're traveling abroad.

What's your setting - can it toggle the above & call ? It is a good start in the good direction for AT&T ...
Letitride3c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 2:29 pm   #6
  
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BGR; Lower Earth Orbit
Programs: UA Bronze, DL Gold, Avis First, Owner's Circle - Green Bay Packers
Posts: 8,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letitride3c View Post
iPhone5S here on 9.0.2 - these are my T-Mo WiFi Call settings
Airplane mode - OFF
WiFi - ON (to whatever network)
Cellular - OFF
Carrier (status: T-Mobile WiFi)
and
under, Phone
WiFi Calling - ON (Make and receive calls over Wi-Fi with your T-Mobile account) ... plus E911 Update Emergency Address (done)

That's how we've been making T-Mo WiFi calls - using the cellular # under T-Mobile (not Hangouts or Talkatone, etc.) no charges or minutes deducted against any airtime, even when we're traveling abroad.

What's your setting - can it toggle the above & call ? It is a good start in the good direction for AT&T ...
I just turn on airplane mode, then turn on wifi. It's easier than going in and toggling cellular network.
WIRunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 5:27 pm   #7
Moderator: American AAdvantage, Travel Safety/Security & Texas
  
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: US/AA, HHonors, Hertz
Posts: 8,786
I'm trying to see what advantage there is to even having this.
Yes I do have AT&T (have had it for ages, have the unlimited from when it first rolled out).

However, I only have an iPhone 5S, so wouldn't be able to use this, even if I wanted to.

Seems very odd...I could make a Facetime call to another iPhone, and have done so, even when abroad.
It seems like the only thing this would do is use WiFi for calling if I'm in say NYC (and had a more current phone), where cell coverage can be a bit tight.
aztimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 15, 6:43 pm   #8
  
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BGR; Lower Earth Orbit
Programs: UA Bronze, DL Gold, Avis First, Owner's Circle - Green Bay Packers
Posts: 8,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by aztimm View Post
I'm trying to see what advantage there is to even having this.
Yes I do have AT&T (have had it for ages, have the unlimited from when it first rolled out).

However, I only have an iPhone 5S, so wouldn't be able to use this, even if I wanted to.

Seems very odd...I could make a Facetime call to another iPhone, and have done so, even when abroad.
It seems like the only thing this would do is use WiFi for calling if I'm in say NYC (and had a more current phone), where cell coverage can be a bit tight.
AT&T requires their phones to have VoLTE to have WiFi calling, presumably so that if the cellular network returns to an acceptable level the call can handoff. The 5s doesn't support VoLTE so it can't do this. (Which is ridiculous, as it works absolutely fine on the 5s/c.)

Not everyone has an iPhone for one, and not everyone that has an iPhone has FaceTime turned on.
WIRunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 15, 7:36 am   #9
  
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM (segs), Hilton DM, Marriott Pt, TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by aztimm View Post
I'm trying to see what advantage there is to even having this.
If you live in an area with marginal coverage, then your calls can now go over a (presumably better) wifi connection.

Where I live I get about -110 to -115dBm on ATT. If I walk in to certain areas in the middle of the house I occasionally start to have trouble hearing every word.

However, I have a gigabit internet connection and good wifi coverage in the house so when I use the ATT over wifi I get an excellent coverage throughout the house.
HDQDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 15, 8:25 am   #10
  
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,331
What happens with data and ATT wifi calling being on? Is the data piped back to ATT's servers and am I then charged by them for playing Pandora on my home network? Is ATT clear about wifi calls placed from outside the US being not charged at roaming rates?

Addendum:

Read the footnote on the doc linked to below. It says wifi calling is not available outside the US. Ugh.

http://www.att.com/shop/wireless/fea...i-calling.html
Dubai Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 15, 4:44 pm   #11
  
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM (segs), Hilton DM, Marriott Pt, TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubai Stu View Post
What happens with data and ATT wifi calling being on?
Data is handled separately from calls. As long as the wifi is good, data will go over wifi. To ensure it doesn't go over ATT's network when wifi is lousy or lost, you may need to check your settings.
HDQDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 15, 5:35 pm   #12
FlyerTalk Evangelist
  
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 29,031
It is ideal or those who have access to wifi but not good cellular coverage. If you don't have unlimited "talk" and care about cellular, just turn it off. As you move away from the wifi network, you will lost connectivity.

A great thing for many people in rural areas.
Often1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 15, 5:51 pm   #13
  
Join Date: May 2006
Location: BGR; Lower Earth Orbit
Programs: UA Bronze, DL Gold, Avis First, Owner's Circle - Green Bay Packers
Posts: 8,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
It is ideal or those who have access to wifi but not good cellular coverage. If you don't have unlimited "talk" and care about cellular, just turn it off. As you move away from the wifi network, you will lost connectivity.

A great thing for many people in rural areas.
Sorta. AT&T is requiring VoLTE devices so that if you leave WiFi coverage then it will switch over to the cellular network if there is "HD Calling" available. In general you'd be better off leaving it on. It will just deduct from the bucket minutes if you don't have unlimited.
WIRunner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 16, 9:04 pm   #14
  
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudoswede View Post
Really? Can't use it outside the US?
You can use it outside the US, but some you can't in some countries, for instance, China, where I'd mostly like to use it
nonlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 17, 2:49 am   #15
  
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Francisco, California
Programs: Amex Centurion, United Global Services
Posts: 541
In Italy and it's working here.
DMSFCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Thread Tools
Search Thread
Go to Top
Forum Jump
Contact Us - FlyerTalk - Archive - Top