Wiki Posts
Search

Slingbox alternatives

Search this Thread

Old Apr 22, 2015, 9:20 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA PPRO, Marriott/Hilton Gold, AMX-Plat, Global Entry
Slingbox alternatives

Sling is in the middle of screwing up the SlingBox world. I just got updated to the latest Chrome and Firefox plug-ins and they are buggy and crash. But that's not the real issue. They have decided to stream ads along with the video. So now, if it works, "full screen" is a box on the screen and there are ads being served.

I've owned in two homes over the last 10 years AV's, Solo's and now 350's. Unless Sling quickly changes their mind on serving ads, I will be replacing both 350's with something else.

Anybody using something else they like?
Old Apr 23, 2015, 7:41 am

I realize this isn't a direct replacement if true Live TV is your goal, but I have been using Plex for several months now and I love it. Granted, it takes some configuration, and it isn't for ad-hoc live streaming or sports, but I have found that most of the content I want to watch I try to download in advance and then copy it to my Plex server. It is then accessible from virtually any device I own, and from anywhere I happen to be with a good connection.

I will keep my Sling for those times when I absolutely must watch the big game and I do not happen to be home at the time, but those moments are becoming exceedingly rare these days.

For someone who just has to have access to live TV, I feel your pain.
Old Apr 23, 2015, 10:15 am

Originally Posted by robroy90
I realize this isn't a direct replacement if true Live TV is your goal, but I have been using Plex for several months now and I love it. Granted, it takes some configuration, and it isn't for ad-hoc live streaming or sports, but I have found that most of the content I want to watch I try to download in advance and then copy it to my Plex server. It is then accessible from virtually any device I own, and from anywhere I happen to be with a good connection.