Wiki Posts
Search

So who wants an Apple Watch?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 21, 2015, 5:16 pm

Wink

Originally Posted by deniah
i work in marketing. i understand how the machine works
Does not make you any less susceptible. You buy everything on price? No brands you favour? Not even a brand of traveler forum? Just saying...
Old Apr 21, 2015, 5:49 pm

Programs: *G
Originally Posted by osamede
Does not make you any less susceptible. You buy everything on price? No brands you favour? Not even a brand of traveler forum? Just saying...
none of this is germane to the point - which is the over-exaggerated importance of an artificial supply exercise.

if you sell 50 million phones per quarter -- besides having a strong product per se -- your "core marketing strategy" probably isnt 'lets stir up fake shortages'

fwiw, yes, i have favored brands. i was early adopter of products - many from apple and many from competing vendors; none experienced shortages so i actually not sure what youre just sayin...
Old Apr 21, 2015, 6:17 pm

Originally Posted by deniah
if you sell 50 million phones per quarter -- besides having a strong product per se -- your "core marketing strategy" probably isnt 'lets stir up fake shortages'.
No, but it could very well be a part of your launch PR strategy. In the case of this particular company, that has long been the MO.

Plus when we look at the "luxury goods" space, which Apple is keep on entering with this particular product, engineered scarcity is virtually the entire game.

Point is this is exceedingly common tactic in this territory. Hardly the stuff of conspiracy. One has to bend over backward to come to that kind of conclusion.

Apple wants everyone to want one of these - but this watch is a fairly standardised mass manufactured product aiming to steal market share from low volume products - of course they are going to make it seem a bit like you "cant".
Old Apr 21, 2015, 8:12 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist